Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2014, 10:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


It seems like bad design to have exposed energized metal, even inside a box, given that the box has a bare ground conductor inside. Good workmanship would keep the ground conductor at the back, of course, but it's still awfully close proximity.

Yet the pros seem to look down on the practice of taping them over.

Run and find ou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 05:07 AM   #2
DIY staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Kane county,Illinois
Posts: 21,907
Rewards Points: 2,462
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


Don't tape the recepticals --it makes future work rather hazardous---

This is the reason pros hate to see a taped receptical or switch---

__________________
New members: Adding your location to your profile helps in many ways.--M--
oh'mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 05:46 AM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


This is no reason to tape the screws, but you can if you so wish.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
garlicbreath (07-16-2014), jbfan (07-14-2014), Know A Little (07-14-2014), oh'mike (07-14-2014), Speedy Petey (07-14-2014)
Old 07-14-2014, 06:37 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 454
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


Typically a DIY'er would use cheap tape (though not always) and this makes for a gooey mess.

This is one of those personal preference things, and there is nothing wrong with it, but it has always been my opinion as a professional if I cannot install conductors and a receptacle in a box, I am most likely in the wrong profession.

Having said that there are times I might tape a receptacle such as in an old work box with Madison Straps.

Almost all the ones I have run across have the gooey mess or the tape was installed fairly tight and slips off over time.
Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Know A Little For This Useful Post:
micromind (07-14-2014)
Old 07-14-2014, 07:05 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 31
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


Rex Cauldwell's "Wiring a House" suggests to tape receptacles when they are installed in a metal box.
mprice214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 07:43 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,115
Rewards Points: 3,348
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


Only time I do it is when it's a metal box.
Even then I leave a twisted tab of tape where it's cut off so the next person can remove it easily.
One time one of my workers installed a GFI in a small metal box and did not take the time to center the outlet and it shorted out against the metal box.
It made a simple 10 min. job a nightmare to repair.
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
Gymschu (07-14-2014)
Old 07-14-2014, 08:19 AM   #7
First Home N00b
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bordentown, NJ
Posts: 183
Rewards Points: 154
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Know A Little View Post
Almost all the ones I have run across have the gooey mess or the tape was installed fairly tight and slips off over time.
Same here. I calmed my fears by almost always using plastic boxes. In my current home, even all the wire nuts are taped. Gooey mess, and whenever I open up something I absolutely must go turn the breaker off and verify no power present at the outlet because I'm not sure what's underneath all the tape. Granted, you should do that every time, but I think we all know we take some shortcuts in the name of speed.

If you install outlets and receptacles properly, "close proximity" is not an issue. Just like if you strip back the insulation to code-approved length, you have no bare conductor exposed at the backside of the wire nut when you make your connections and therefore no risk.
95PGTTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 10:10 AM   #8
Member
 
PoleCat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 1,475
Rewards Points: 632
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Know A Little View Post
Typically a DIY'er would use cheap tape (though not always) and this makes for a gooey mess.

This is one of those personal preference things, and there is nothing wrong with it, but it has always been my opinion as a professional if I cannot install conductors and a receptacle in a box, I am most likely in the wrong profession.

Having said that there are times I might tape a receptacle such as in an old work box with Madison Straps.

Almost all the ones I have run across have the gooey mess or the tape was installed fairly tight and slips off over time.
That is actually a good time to get the tape out. If the outlet gets used on a regular basis for a vacuum it can work loose and make contact.
__________________
"Ask me anything. If I don't know the answer I'll make something up."
PoleCat is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to PoleCat For This Useful Post:
micromind (07-14-2014)
Old 07-14-2014, 10:47 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA
Posts: 3,065
Rewards Points: 2,330
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


The only time I tape is inside a metal box with a large receptacle such as GFCI or a dimmer. These come so close to the edge of the metal box that I'm not comfortable with it.
jeffnc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 05:56 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 79
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by oh'mike View Post
Don't tape the recepticals --it makes future work rather hazardous---

This is the reason pros hate to see a taped receptical or switch---
I'm very alert to making future work safe and easy.

What's the nature of the hazard?
Run and find ou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 06:17 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,712
Rewards Points: 2,222
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


Since the device should be installed or removed with the power OFF there is no need for tape.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 07:52 PM   #12
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,697
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


Tape not required
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:21 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 911
Rewards Points: 936
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Since the device should be installed or removed with the power OFF there is no need for tape.
There are a few times I have pushed an outlet into the box, screwed it tight, and got a ZZZAAAPPP when hitting the breaker.
That pesky little UNINSULATED ground wire...
Bob Sanders is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:27 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 836
Rewards Points: 592
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


The three best, IBEW trained commercial electricians I know all tape the screw terminals.
Anti-wingnut is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 06:11 AM   #15
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,132
Rewards Points: 2,056
Default

Do you tape over screw terminals on receptacles?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post
The three best, IBEW trained commercial electricians I know all tape the screw terminals.
We all learn silly bad habits from our mentors....

stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
jbfan (07-15-2014), Know A Little (07-15-2014)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type of nails/screws should be used with furring strips? firsttimeremode Building & Construction 18 10-02-2012 08:30 AM
Frozen Hot Water Pipes TravisW Plumbing 11 12-10-2009 05:26 PM
Swapping old 3ways with new (different screw color configuration on new switch) Michblaze02 Electrical 10 11-08-2009 02:17 PM
Masking and Blue tape ripping off paint LeviDIY Painting 20 10-21-2009 06:56 PM
Can't get set screw in TP holder loose janralix Plumbing 4 08-12-2009 10:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.