Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2011, 09:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

Do smoke detector and doorbell transformer count as outlets?


According to Ontario Electrical Code, no more than 12 outlets are permitted on a circuit. On one circuit, I have 13 devices shown as below.
- 5 light outlets
- 3 plug outlets
- 1 washromm fan
- 3 smoke detectors
- 1 doorbell transformer
I'm wondering whether a smoke detector or a doorbell transformer counts as an outlet.

Thanks for helping.

wj618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 09:53 PM   #2
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

Do smoke detector and doorbell transformer count as outlets?


deleted

__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 09:56 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

Do smoke detector and doorbell transformer count as outlets?


Hi that would be 13 devices. You will have to move your smoke detectors off that circuit because they need to be on a lighting circuit or a circuit that has lights on it. The reason behind this is that your more likely to notice lights not working then a plug that is not working.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 08:08 AM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,384
Default

Do smoke detector and doorbell transformer count as outlets?


I agree that is 13 outlets. I don't think smokes are REQUIRED to be on a lighting, but it is a good idea. If they are required to be on a lighting circuit can you give a code reference. I want to look it up.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 01:18 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 2
Smile

Do smoke detector and doorbell transformer count as outlets?


LyonsElecSupply, darren, joed:
Thanks for your replies.
I think the smoke detectors are already on a lighting circuit since there are 5 lights on the circuit.
I guess what I should do is to move the doorbell transformer to another circuit.

wj618
wj618 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 05:22 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

Do smoke detector and doorbell transformer count as outlets?


Hey Joe it is 32-110

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.