Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-01-2012, 02:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


Is it acceptable to have a non-GFCI receptacle in a weatherproof box located outside if the breaker it connects to is a GFCI breaker, or does the receptacle itself have to be GFCI type?

smata67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:12 PM   #2
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


breaker is fine, its actually my preference to have outside receptacles on a gfci breaker or protected by a gfci inside the house. gfci receptacles physically outside seem to wear out faster

kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: IL
Posts: 614
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinp22 View Post
breaker is fine, its actually my preference to have outside receptacles on a gfci breaker or protected by a gfci inside the house. gfci receptacles physically outside seem to wear out faster

I prefer breakers as well. Its gets confusing when there are additional receptacles downstream from a GFCI receptacle. You have to snoop all over the place to find the tripped GFCI. Also I just took three GFCI's out of my brothers new house since they were cascaded after GFCI's upstream of them.

If the GFCI breakers were priced a little lower people might be more inclined to use GFCI breakers instead of GFCI receptacles.
curiousB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 03:43 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,093
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


I prefer every outside outlet its own GFCI device, this way its an easy fix/reset for anyone.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 04:02 PM   #5
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,261
Rewards Points: 46
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


Or you could do it like my in-laws house.....put the GFIC up in the 2-story bathroom and feed the outside receptical from it......
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
electures (06-02-2012), oh'mike (06-01-2012)
Old 06-01-2012, 04:41 PM   #6
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Or you could do it like my in-laws house.....put the GFIC up in the 2-story bathroom and feed the outside receptical from it......
Cute set up - a code violation and inconvenient at the same time
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 04:42 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,093
Rewards Points: 12
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Or you could do it like my in-laws house.....put the GFIC up in the 2-story bathroom and feed the outside receptical from it......
I like my house, GFCI breaker: feeds every bath and outside receptacle, that was allowable back in the day, and I tend to like it.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (06-01-2012)
Old 06-01-2012, 05:08 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,037
Rewards Points: 14
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinp22 View Post
Cute set up - a code violation and inconvenient at the same time
Not a code violation depending on the time it was done. Not sure of the NEC code year but it was compliant in 1978 (and maybe later). But definitely not convenient.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to rjniles For This Useful Post:
electures (06-02-2012), gregzoll (06-01-2012), oh'mike (06-01-2012)
Old 06-01-2012, 08:17 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


The panel is in the attic and I would need a ladder to get to it, does that change anything?

What if I sprung for the GFCI outlet (it would be for a 240V service, I've been unable to find one), which would trip first, the GFCI outlet or the GFCI breaker in the panel?
smata67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 08:28 PM   #10
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


There are no 240 volt GFI receptacles. GFI protection for 240 volt circuits is provided by a 2 pole GFI breaker.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 10:34 PM   #11
Member
 
kevinp22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 323
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


[quote=smata67;934189]The panel is in the attic and I would need a ladder to get to it, does that change anything?

Wow, a panel you have to get a ladder to access. yikes. that opens a whole can of worms here I bet

There are times when gfci breakers and receptacles are best. I have all my outside rec (3) on a gfci 20amp breaker. the kitchen and baths are gfci receptacles as my wife was not going to the panel every time one trips. LOL - i installed them 6 months ago and not a single one has ever tripped.
kevinp22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 10:39 PM   #12
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


The only time that I would use a breaker, is if it is 1)Easily accessible, or 2) The branch circuit is a retro-fit, and it is hard to run electrical point to point to point, so that you can use one gfci outlet to protect the down line outlets.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 10:45 PM   #13
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


It is easier to use a GFI breaker than to try an fit a GFI receptacle into the old boxes on a two wire system. Also no need to find the first receptacle in the string.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2012, 11:14 AM   #14
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,670
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do Outdoor Receptacles Have to be GFCI?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Or you could do it like my in-laws house.....put the GFIC up in the 2-story bathroom and feed the outside receptical from it......
Been there. Done that.

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Freezer tripping GFCI davidclements Appliances 57 08-13-2014 08:14 PM
Replacing kitchen gfci with gfci breakers-something's not right Fpbaum Electrical 14 05-01-2012 08:43 AM
GFCI wiring for a jetted bathtub couchpotato Electrical 13 03-20-2012 11:26 AM
GFCI - White & Black Both HOT? hagler Electrical 11 03-19-2012 08:29 AM
GFCI Question Mdbuilder Electrical 6 06-19-2008 03:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.