Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2010, 07:53 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Do I need a permit


My exterior wire casing needs to be replaced or at least repaired. I live in NJ, do I need a permit?

1sthomebuyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I need a permit


To replace wiring you usually need a permit
What kind of wiring are you replacing ?
All of the wiring ?

Your local building Dept would be able to tell you

Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 07:57 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I need a permit


I don't need to replace the wiring, just the casing around it that protects it from rain, snow, etc...
1sthomebuyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:08 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,789
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Do I need a permit


A picture would help, but when you say casing, we think outer jacket on a cable.
If it is the outer jacket, then the wire must be replaced.
Anything that is done to the service requires a permit in my area.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:09 AM   #5
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I need a permit


W hen you say casing I'm assuming you mean the conduit. Which means you would have to unhook the wiring. Most likely the PCO would be involved to do it safely. In NC you would dwffinatey have to get a Permit. Because it requires a on off with the power co. You need to talk to the Local Authority Having Jurisdiction in your area.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:14 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I need a permit


thanks, I will definitely contact my borough!
1sthomebuyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:16 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I need a permit


Another quick question...

The electrician at home depot suggested to spray it with something that rubberizes or something along those lines.

Do you think that would be ok?
1sthomebuyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:17 AM   #8
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,585
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Do I need a permit


Sounds like the OP is dealing with SE cable and the overall sheath is cracked or missing. If so the entire cable needs to be replaced. This will require power company involvement to disconnect and reconnect along with an inspection.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:19 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I need a permit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Sounds like the OP is dealing with SE cable and the overall sheath is cracked or missing. If so the entire cable needs to be replaced. This will require power company involvement to disconnect and reconnect along with an inspection.


OP?
SE Cable?
Overall sheath?
Power Company - ???????????? Really?
1sthomebuyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:25 AM   #10
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I need a permit


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1sthomebuyer View Post
Another quick question...

The electrician at home depot suggested to spray it with something that rubberizes or something along those lines.

Do you think that would be ok?
Would not be a perminate fix and could cause it to deterioate , if solvent is not compatable.

SE cable has an outer sheath instead of conduit.
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:28 AM   #11
Inspector/Instructor
 
codeone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I need a permit


Quote:
Originally Posted by 1sthomebuyer View Post


OP?
SE Cable?
Overall sheath?
Power Company - ???????????? Really?
OP = original poster
SE = service entrance cable
Overall Sheath = outer covering of the cable instead of pipe
Power Co = YES
codeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:33 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I need a permit


I've been in 2 houses now where the outside cable leaked

1st house was not mine
Required the feed on the side of the house be replaced, all breakers & panel
Inspector deemed it a fire hazard after the fact, electrician stated that some of the breakers were so rusted they probably would not have tripped

This house the panel was replaced, could have been fixed...but I didn't want it for a main panel

OP - you - Original Poster
Se - service entrance/specific type of wire/cable
Sheath - outside covering for the wire
---if damaged/detiorating the wire needs to be replaced
DO NOT put anything on it that HD recommends

If its the Main feed the Power Co (POCO) will need to shut off power while its being replaced
My feed was replaced in a matter of ~2 hours
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 08:42 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Do I need a permit


thanks everyone!!!

1sthomebuyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Renovation Permit crazy4films Building & Construction 10 12-31-2009 10:06 AM
Do I need a permit to repair my roof? shanemcguire1 Roofing/Siding 9 04-16-2009 09:12 AM
Can I pull a blanket type siding permit? pomelo General DIY Discussions 3 01-27-2009 01:52 PM
plumbing permit fdic Plumbing 5 01-26-2009 09:43 PM
No Permit for my Porch and Deck jokiddjr Building & Construction 15 06-13-2007 10:34 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.