Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2008, 07:19 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 412
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Do I need a new box?


OK THANKS. I think it sounds like I should just get a new panel. Then we can separate anywhere they have 2 wires going into a single breaker into their own circuits and use all 1" breakers.

pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 07:25 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 561
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Do I need a new box?


Exactly. The problem here probably started way back when the HO needed circuit # 13 added. It was probably for something irrelevant. You go to install a new circuit for a workshop, or an air conditioner, and find out you need and entire new panel or subpanel to do it... so in go the noncompliant piggybacks...

Seems people don't have an issue upgrading a panel or service when they're spending 20 grand on a kitchen, or pool... but not so keen when a 250.00 a/c requires a 2500.00 service change.
LawnGuyLandSparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 11:23 AM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 412
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Do I need a new box?


Any ideas what I might expect to have a licensed electrician come in to put in a new box including the price of a new box?
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2008, 08:28 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 412
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Do I need a new box?


Is there a way to tell visibly the difference between a CTL breaker and a non CTL? I went to the depot and looked at them side by side and could not figure it out.
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 05:06 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 412
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Do I need a new box?


What are your thoughts on running a sub panel rather than installing an entirely new panel.

Here is what I am looking at realistically. The kitchen will probably be the last additional circuits this house will ever need. I have 4 1" slots in the basement being used by electrical baseboard which I could remove because I have a direct vented space heater that will go in there.

If for some reason we remodel down the line, say in 8 years, I am not worried about throwing away $100 on a sub panel and a few breakers vs $2000 for upgrade to 200 amp + new panel (seems to be the going rate locally). BTW None of the local guys will replace only the box stating that we need more than 100 and that likely the feeders are in substandard condition.

Ahh I dunno.

Last edited by pcampbell; 04-11-2008 at 06:03 PM.
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 07:16 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 412
Rewards Points: 254
Default

Do I need a new box?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Yep, that is close enough. Don't forget the 20 amp branch circuit requirement for the minimum 2 small appliance circuits.

As for your question about 1/2 size can you clarify or post a picture of your panelboard. Murray to my knowledge has 'tandem breakers as shown below' designated MH-T but I am not aware of any 1/2'' breakers for a murray panel. Murray tandems are full size but two single pole breakers in one case. Does the old panel list the breakers it will accept? If the electrician installed a non ctl breaker meaning one that does not have the rejection feature so it can't be installed in a panel not rated for them he was incorrect in doing that.
Just a dumb qustion here.

If a breaker that has 12 regular sized breaker slots and allows tandems, but only has 12 spots for each neutral and ground, assuming it is against code to double up on neutral... how could I use the tandems without a code violation?


Last edited by pcampbell; 01-07-2009 at 07:23 PM.
pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.