Do I Need A Dedicated Circuit??? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-13-2010, 03:44 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 238
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


Under NEC do I need to run a dedicated line for a 600 w wall mounted heater? The circuit only has 2 outlets on it now. Thanks

Advertisement

organick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 03:53 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


Before that answer, what circuit are you thinking about adding this to? There may not be enough reserve capacity to add a 600 watt load to the existing circuit.

Advertisement

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 04:11 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 238
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
Before that answer, what circuit are you thinking about adding this to? There may not be enough reserve capacity to add a 600 watt load to the existing circuit.

the circuit has 2 other outlets on it. neither ever really get used. Its a laundry room. Not connected to washer circuit. Its a 15 amp circuit.
organick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 07:57 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 238
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


Can anyone answer that??? Thought it was pretty simple one.
organick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:56 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


Yes. This circuit is not considered the laundry circuit.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 10:21 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 238
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


jbfan...what exactly does that mean?



jim... i was actually mistaken on the circuit. its a 20 amp gfci circuit with 3 outlets on it.
organick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 11:11 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


Quote:
Originally Posted by organick View Post
jbfan...what exactly does that mean?



jim... i was actually mistaken on the circuit. its a 20 amp gfci circuit with 3 outlets on it.
Yes you can use it.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2010, 08:11 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 238
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Yes you can use it.


Thank you..........Also with those wall mount heaters would a plug in style one meet code or do they need to be hardwired??

I greatly appreciate it.
organick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 10:00 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 238
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Yes you can use it.

JB....not to question you but I was just told by an inspector that it has to be on a dedicated circuit? Does NEC say that??
organick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 01:08 PM   #10
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


Quote:
Originally Posted by organick View Post
JB....not to question you but I was just told by an inspector that it has to be on a dedicated circuit? Does NEC say that??
Local codes will apply, but since it is not the laundry circuit, there is nothing I am aware of in the NEC that would not allow this.
You are talking about a device that will be used 3 months out of the year!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 01:56 PM   #11
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


In another forum this sounded like it might be the laundry circuit. Can;t be sure it is the same person.

http://www.nachi.org/forum/f19/dedicated-circuit-56291/

or this one

http://forums.mikeholt.com/showthread.php?t=132254
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.

Last edited by Jim Port; 12-15-2010 at 02:06 PM. Reason: added 2nd link
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 02:56 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,964
Rewards Points: 2,324
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
In another forum this sounded like it might be the laundry circuit. Can;t be sure it is the same person.

http://www.nachi.org/forum/f19/dedicated-circuit-56291/

or this one

http://forums.mikeholt.com/showthread.php?t=132254
I see he has changed the question a couple of times in the other forums.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 04:56 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 238
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


There is no changing of the question......Its all the same question.


I have a laundry room. it needs a heater. I have a 20 amp gfci that has 3 outlets on. I am putting a 500 watt heater in. That circuit is not the one with washer on it. The washer is on its own circuit.

Does the heater need to be on its own is all I want to know. Iguess I forgot to mention in one thread that it was a laundry room but its not on a circuit with the washer.


Thanks Guys
organick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2010, 09:09 PM   #14
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,056
Rewards Points: 2,910
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


Thank you for the clarification. With this not being the required laundry circuit you should be fine to add this load.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
organick (12-16-2010)
Old 12-15-2010, 09:14 PM   #15
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Do I need a dedicated circuit???


I will give you a short straight answer as long it is not used in landury circuit or sump pump circuit that is not a issue at all and with your 120 volt heater in unfinshed basement it have to be GFCI protected.

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
organick (12-16-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dedicated circuit for table saw MeanGene Electrical 6 11-03-2010 09:31 PM
Planning circuit layout for barn tbeaulieu Electrical 8 04-08-2010 10:38 AM
Moving a Fridge, is a dedicated circuit required...or not? Snowy334 Electrical 7 07-03-2009 01:36 PM
Dedicated 20amp circuit chingon Electrical 1 03-31-2009 07:36 PM
Circuit advice for finishing basement Straightgrain Electrical 16 03-25-2009 10:07 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts