Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2012, 08:00 PM   #16
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 463
Share |
Default

Do I need conduit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Econdron View Post
Yeah something like that where the studs were. Though I'll cut holes in the studs for the conduit so it will be completely in the wall.
What part of this picture would be legal in NM. Not directed at the OP. Btw, not all DIY scare me. I should have been clear on that.

Mark

__________________
Licensed Master Electrician
Commonwealth of Virginia
busman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:03 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 97
Default

Do I need conduit?


No offense intended to you guys, as we are all just guessing at what the original poster's installation actually is until he clarifies it, but my guess was certainly not that he notched a groove in his drywall, carefully laid the cable into it, and then covered over it. Unless he posts again to explain what he did do, who knows? The picture there is someone else's guess, not the original guy's.
jeffsw6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 09:19 PM   #18
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Do I need conduit?


I think you are the only one who is confused on what he did. Its pretty clear to the rest of us.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (11-06-2012)
Old 11-06-2012, 02:15 AM   #19
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Do I need conduit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
I think you are the only one who is confused on what he did. Its pretty clear to the rest of us.
I not even confused what the OP did say it in first place.

That something we don't even do that over here in France as well we do not run indivual conductors in the wall either.

It have to be in a cable or in conduit there is no other way around on this one. ( save the debate about the T&K stuff that is antique stuff )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:08 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Do I need conduit?


Ok... To clarify, I used a rotozip and cut a line through the drywall, where the studs were I just cut the drywall down to the stud and then put the wires in one at a time and just packed them in where the studs were. Though the safety side of me got the better of me. I ripped out all the drywall and am installing the liquid tight conduit. Better safe than sorry!
Econdron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 05:14 PM   #21
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,867
Default

Do I need conduit?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Econdron View Post
Ok... To clarify, I used a rotozip and cut a line through the drywall, where the studs were I just cut the drywall down to the stud and then put the wires in one at a time and just packed them in where the studs were. Though the safety side of me got the better of me. I ripped out all the drywall and am installing the liquid tight conduit. Better safe than sorry!
Glad to hear your interested in doing the installation so that it is code compliant and in turn will make the wiring safe. It's very easy to make poor judgement with electrical installations if your not a professional. That's why this forum exists ... to help those who are responsible enough to come here and ask how to do an electrical installation so that it is safe and code compliant.
The lesson here is to ask before your do ...

Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Stubbie For This Useful Post:
jbfan (11-06-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Total Degrees of Bend in Underground PVC Conduit tedallen Electrical 12 03-29-2012 08:02 PM
PVC conduit - custom offset or bending tns1 Electrical 25 08-29-2011 05:56 PM
What conduit should I use? mulltron Electrical 6 07-12-2011 01:34 AM
Warm and Noisy Electrical Conduit Intravartolo Electrical 4 07-26-2010 01:46 AM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 06:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.