Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-12-2012, 06:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


Hi -

I'm building a "stove tie-in" like the ones used on some movie sets.

It's a stove plug that wires into a double 110 receptacle/outlet (4 sockets).

The idea is to get more watts for lights easily when shooting in a house, by unplugging the stove and plugging this temporarily instead.

Models I've seen don't have a breaker as I presume overload risks are carefully monitored by film crew and the odd blown out light bulb isn't a big issue.

- 4 wires jut out of the stove plug: black, red, white and copper-color.
- These go into a double outlet receptacle
- The 2 outlets nested in it each have screws/plates on each side (silver and golden) and a green screw/plate .
- The receptacle has 1 green screw/plate

My questions:
1) Where to tie/screw in place the black, red, white and copper-color wires?
2) Do I have to wire nut/connect these to smaller caliber wires inside the receptacle before tying/screwing them in place on the outlets?

Thanks

Charles

FCharles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 06:39 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,341
Rewards Points: 2,344
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


1), it would only work if the circuit is a 4-wire, not 3-wire, and 2), you would need a panel for breakers, since you can not use a 30 amp circuit, unless the lights are rated for 30 amps, and usually they are 240volt lamps. You never stated if these lamps are 120volt or 240volt.

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 06:40 PM   #3
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by FCharles View Post
Hi -

I'm building a "stove tie-in" like the ones used on some movie sets.

It's a stove plug that wires into a double 110 receptacle/outlet (4 sockets).

The idea is to get more watts for lights easily when shooting in a house, by unplugging the stove and plugging this temporarily instead.

Models I've seen don't have a breaker as I presume overload risks are carefully monitored by film crew and the odd blown out light bulb isn't a big issue.

- 4 wires jut out of the stove plug: black, red, white and copper-color.
- These go into a double outlet receptacle
- The 2 outlets nested in it each have screws/plates on each side (silver and golden) and a green screw/plate .
- The receptacle has 1 green screw/plate

My questions:
1) Where to tie/screw in place the black, red, white and copper-color wires?
2) Do I have to wire nut/connect these to smaller caliber wires inside the receptacle before tying/screwing them in place on the outlets?

Thanks

Charles
This is a code violation if you are supplying 15 and 20 amp receptacles off a 40-50 amp circuit breaker...

Last edited by stickboy1375; 06-12-2012 at 06:42 PM.
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 06:57 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,151
Rewards Points: 518
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


Get yourself a small panel(4 or 8 space) and screw it to a piece of a plywood. Run a wire from the lugs in the panel to a male stove plug end, so when you plug it in the panel powers up.

Out of the panel install what ever plugs you need, use pipe nipples and it will keep it nice and clean looking.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to darren For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (06-14-2012)
Old 06-12-2012, 08:01 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


I would use a 8 space square d panel, and build a smallish box with wheels to mount it to, then you can stash all the cords in the box, as at 40 amp they will be heavy

And don't cheap out on the plugs. I'm talking commrercial grade receps, metal covers , and nice "handy boxes"

It may be worthwhile to put in the odd 30 amp 120 v plug just in case someone has a really high power light.

You can buy a stove cord premade from home depot and direct wire it into the sub panel but it would be pretty short and it might be more convenient to build a longer one using portable cord.
sparkyjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 10:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkyjake View Post
You can buy a stove cord premade from home depot and direct wire it into the sub panel
Really?? The NEC does not think so...

400.7(B) Attachment Plugs. Where used as permitted in
400.7(A)(3), (A)(6), and (A)(8), each flexible cord shall be
equipped with an attachment plug and shall be energized
from a receptacle outlet.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 10:39 PM   #7
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


If you read that, it says the cord shall have an attachment plug(cap), okay a premade cord has that, and shall be energized via a receptacle, the cord gets plugged in to a hot receptacle, so we're okay there too.



it does not say a cord shall have attachment plugs on both ends, or you'd never be allowed to use a cord that wasn't removable...
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Techy For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (06-12-2012)
Old 06-12-2012, 10:59 PM   #8
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
If you read that, it says the cord shall have an attachment plug(cap), okay a premade cord has that, and shall be energized via a receptacle, the cord gets plugged in to a hot receptacle, so we're okay there too.



it does not say a cord shall have attachment plugs on both ends, or you'd never be allowed to use a cord that wasn't removable...
He said direct wire to a panel with a cord. No? I did not say you could not use a cord from a receptacle to a piece of equipment.

Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:03 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Techy View Post
If you read that, it says the cord shall have an attachment plug(cap), okay a premade cord has that, and shall be energized via a receptacle, the cord gets plugged in to a hot receptacle, so we're okay there too.



it does not say a cord shall have attachment plugs on both ends, or you'd never be allowed to use a cord that wasn't removable...
I don't see where a panel falls under (A)(3),(6) or (8)
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:09 PM   #10
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I don't see where a panel falls under (A)(3),(6) or (8)
That is because it doesn't.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:09 PM   #11
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,142
Rewards Points: 2,076
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Code05 View Post
That is because it doesn't.
I know...
stickboy1375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:15 PM   #12
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
I know...
I know you know, be quiet, I wanna see Techys response.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 11:54 PM   #13
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


Sounds like someone is trying to wire up some grow lights to me.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 06:44 AM   #14
Sparky
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 703
Rewards Points: 504
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


Honestly I thought there was something in 590 that allowed it, but I agree you'll have to use an inlet and a double capped cord in this case.
Techy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 07:56 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 25
Default

DIY stove tie-in for movie lights


What I thought of, which may totally be wrong. Would to treat the panel as a stove, backfeed a 40 amp double pole and seperate the ground and whatnot.

Though that would be inconvenient as the box would be right beside the stove. Keep in mind you can get extension cords for stove plugs from your local RV shop.

I suppose you could use generator inlet if you want but I have not seen one in 40 amp

sparkyjake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heat for a basement with Pellt Stove on Main Floor magnum44 HVAC 1 11-20-2011 09:55 AM
Do you have a Wood/Pellet Stove Insert with a Raised GRANITE Hearth? gmoom Remodeling 1 01-24-2011 05:54 PM
Wood burning stove trim not flush against chimney Fortitude Appliances 1 11-11-2010 10:28 PM
Wood Stove, and Furnace hot water system shendog HVAC 7 10-04-2010 10:30 PM
New lights in basement CooperChloe Electrical 11 01-11-2009 12:22 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.