Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2008, 09:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 92
Share |
Default

DIY Networking


Hope this is the right forum.

I would like to know what would be best for my situation.

I have Cox Communications for TV cable, Internet, phone.
I want to bring internet and cable to 2 bedrooms, living room, and a home theater.

Can i just do cable splitters or do i need a distribution box?

I would like to do everything myself but i basically would need a diagram to run everything. I have compression tools that i used to run RG6 Quad wire to 1 bedroom and living room. We have added on and we play Xboxes and Wii.

How do we incorporate gaming consoles and blue ray players?

Does anyone know of a good book?

Just looking for a little feedback. Thanks

rustic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 10:09 AM   #2
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

DIY Networking


Quote:
Originally Posted by rustic View Post
Hope this is the right forum.

I would like to know what would be best for my situation.

I have Cox Communications for TV cable, Internet, phone.
I want to bring internet and cable to 2 bedrooms, living room, and a home theater.

Can i just do cable splitters or do i need a distribution box?

I would like to do everything myself but i basically would need a diagram to run everything. I have compression tools that i used to run RG6 Quad wire to 1 bedroom and living room. We have added on and we play Xboxes and Wii.

How do we incorporate gaming consoles and blue ray players?

Does anyone know of a good book?

Just looking for a little feedback. Thanks
Normally your internet terminates at one point, with a cable modem, then you would run wireless off of a wireless router, or run cat5 cables to rooms that need to be physically connected to the internet.

Normally you just split the cable for cable TV. With HD and all comming, I would double check with the cable company to make sure there is nothing special they suggest.

I really like these modular plates:

http://www.qvs.com/images/c5_pic.jpg

You can use phone, cable, Cat5 + network, audio hook up's, all in one plate.

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 10:27 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 92
Default

DIY Networking


cool, thanks.

I will definately get with my cable company.
rustic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 10:39 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Default

DIY Networking


What I like to do is to run it all to one point and install your splittlers and amplifiers right there. Rg/6 quad is a good cable to use and compression connectors are almost necessary for proper strength and quality.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 10:40 AM   #5
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Default

DIY Networking


If you know what you are doing or can get a quick education of wiring for computer and television purposes you will be much ahead of the game. Do what wiring you can yourself to save some money- Many cable companies will gladly bill you dearly for each additional connection port they provide. Mine does (Comcast) which is why I make it a point to handle all the internal connection points myself and place them where I want rather than a random location.
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 10:42 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

DIY Networking


http://www.electro-tech-online.com/
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 10:54 AM   #7
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Blog Entries: 2
Default

DIY Networking


Quote:
Originally Posted by handyman78 View Post
If you know what you are doing or can get a quick education of wiring for computer and television purposes you will be much ahead of the game. Do what wiring you can yourself to save some money- Many cable companies will gladly bill you dearly for each additional connection port they provide. Mine does (Comcast) which is why I make it a point to handle all the internal connection points myself and place them where I want rather than a random location.
I've seen how the cable company and phone company run wires and install jacks. Last week I developed some interferance on my lines and prevented my dsl from working. The phone company offered to fix the internal wiring for FREE. I said, thanks, but no thanks (I actually kind of laughed at them and said have you ever seen the kind of work your guys do?). No insult intended to any telco / cable guys here. It may just be the companies in my area that staple wires to peoples base boards.

I redid the wiring myself.

Jamie

jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wireless Networking JAVAMAN PC Repairs & Upgrades 3 08-29-2008 10:51 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.