Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-21-2012, 08:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Jasper, GA
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

DIY 200amp set-up


I was talking earlier about the cost of an electrician doing this for me, but I really think that I can do most of the work myself. Pretty simple stuff. Question is about permits. In order to get the power turned back on, ( it is off now due to house being foreclosed on when I bought it) could an electrician pull a permit..check my work and sign off on it? Are most lic. electricians willing to do this?? I WANT and NEED it to be inspected prior to supplying house with power.

Savinmoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 08:12 PM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,695
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

DIY 200amp set-up


This is not legal in many areas. It also exposes the licensed contractor to additional liability for work they did not do.

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Jim Port For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (09-22-2012), Savinmoney (09-21-2012), Speedy Petey (09-21-2012)
Old 09-21-2012, 08:34 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 157
Rewards Points: 150
Default

DIY 200amp set-up


A home owner can pull his own permit and do his own work in my area. Check in yours to see if this is allowed.
silversport is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to silversport For This Useful Post:
Savinmoney (09-21-2012), Speedy Petey (09-21-2012)
Old 09-21-2012, 08:37 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

DIY 200amp set-up


Both previous replies are dead on. More than likely you can just do it yourself and get it inspected.

NO WAY in hell I'd expose myself to that kind of liability with regard to a DIY job. I know most electricians worth their salt feel the same way.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (09-22-2012), Jim Port (09-21-2012), Savinmoney (09-21-2012)
Old 09-21-2012, 08:57 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Jasper, GA
Posts: 38
Rewards Points: 25
Default

DIY 200amp set-up


I wouldn't want that liability either, just wasn't sure how to get the approval from the building inspector. Thanks for all the replies. Makes since to me to be able to pull your own permit and just get it inspected. That's what I wanted in the first place , but wasn't sure it was possable.
Savinmoney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 09:52 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,859
Rewards Points: 2,114
Default

DIY 200amp set-up


If you feel you can do the work, pull a permit and then have it inspected.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100amp service to 200amp service - double or single panel CapeCod153 Electrical 8 05-09-2012 08:03 PM
Upgrade to 200amp or Add a sub panel npaoline Electrical 8 12-20-2011 05:10 AM
100AMP to 200AMP childers2 Electrical 18 02-01-2011 08:19 PM
How would you determine if the wire running TO the box is 200amp? CoconutPete Electrical 12 04-30-2010 05:59 PM
Is it okay to run 4-0 cable 440ft with 200amp service panel jr67z Electrical 3 10-08-2009 08:49 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.