DIY 200A Main Service Upgrade? - Electrical - Page 4 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2008, 06:36 PM   #46
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

DIY 200A main service upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip_Soldat View Post
Gotcha, so perhaps I may not even need the 200A... but in any case I am solid with the procedure from here on, TONS OF THANKS!!!!!
Without doing an actual load calculation it's hard to tell. But a 150 amp service will power a lot of stuff. Let us know what you do and how it turns out. Any more questions, just come back and ask.

Advertisement

__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 08:44 PM   #47
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

DIY 200A main service upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Exactly, that is the sum of the breakers. Your 30 amp dryer will typically run at 22 amps. Your 50 amp range will use less than 20 when cooking the typical meal. Your 20 amp projector might use 6 amps when running. And not everything is running at once. This is why we can install 40 circuit panels with only 200 amp mains.

In my house I have a 100amp main panel, a 70amp sub panel, and a 60amp subpanel in the garage. The total of the breakers is 560 amps. I have never seen more than 70 amps total load on the mains with the AC and dryer running.
JR: What kind of device / meter are you using that allows you to see the amps you are currently drawing?

Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 08:53 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

DIY 200A main service upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
JR: What kind of device / meter are you using that allows you to see the amps you are currently drawing?

Jamie
http://www.theenergydetective.com/st...s/ted1000.html
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 10:18 PM   #49
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

DIY 200A main service upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Without doing an actual load calculation it's hard to tell. But a 150 amp service will power a lot of stuff. Let us know what you do and how it turns out. Any more questions, just come back and ask.
Ok then I will run the subpanel and hook up the spa, get my inspections, then calculate my total load just to be sure (real time). I am handling a lot more projects as well, so I will try to take pics and provide details, hope its as helpful to others as it;s been for me.
Philip_Soldat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2008, 10:21 PM   #50
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

DIY 200A main service upgrade?


Jerry that is amazing, Now I might actually have to buy one with the PC hookup! I have a cheap clamp meter I bought a while ago on ebay and and as cheap as it is its worked perfectly every time. I have a tendency to do some rather large holiday lights displays in the winter here and the clamp meter is a MUST to balance out all the various loads. I have a distribution box that I built a while ago that has a 4 pole relay inside, with several 20 amp outlets on the outside. Balancing out the loads not just so that each outlet/contact only has up to 20-22 amps, but that I have it balanced out in the main panel as well. I tripped the 100 amp main a few times because I didn't quite have it balanced out and had one leg overloaded. I was nearly maxing out the 100 amp service into the house, when the weather warmed up, the lights would turn on and trip the breaker.

That TED device would be nice to monitor the power being consumed at any given time of the day and to better determine where all the power is going (electric bill is usually over 200 a month, with all gas appliances).
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 10:04 AM   #51
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

DIY 200A main service upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
JR: What kind of device / meter are you using that allows you to see the amps you are currently drawing?

Jamie
It's called an amp clamp. Here is a link to some quality meters. The cheaper one shown will work great for home and DIY use.

http://www.specialized.net/ecommerce...e+Clamp+Meters

What it will not do is tell you how much power you use over time. Like a watt hour meter. But it will give you a reading for how much current is flowing through a wire at any given time.
__________________
John

Last edited by jrclen; 09-05-2008 at 10:07 AM.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 10:58 AM   #52
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

DIY 200A main service upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
It's called an amp clamp. Here is a link to some quality meters. The cheaper one shown will work great for home and DIY use.

http://www.specialized.net/ecommerce...e+Clamp+Meters

What it will not do is tell you how much power you use over time. Like a watt hour meter. But it will give you a reading for how much current is flowing through a wire at any given time.
Thanks for the link. Will any Meter that has a AC AMP setting do the same thing?

Basically does a meter like this just tell you the current draw on any like that it is clipped onto?

Thanks
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2008, 11:51 AM   #53
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Rewards Points: 500
Default

DIY 200A main service upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jamiedolan View Post
Thanks for the link. Will any Meter that has a AC AMP setting do the same thing?

Basically does a meter like this just tell you the current draw on any like that it is clipped onto?

Thanks
Jamie
Some meters measure milli amps with probes. They will fry if put in series with a typical load in a electrical circuit in your house.

The clamp around the wire reads how many amps are currently flowing though the wire. It needs to be clamped around only one wire. If you clamp it around a cord for instance it will read 0 as the hot and return are canceling each other out.
__________________
John
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2008, 01:34 PM   #54
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

DIY 200A main service upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrclen View Post
Some meters measure milli amps with probes. They will fry if put in series with a typical load in a electrical circuit in your house.

The clamp around the wire reads how many amps are currently flowing though the wire. It needs to be clamped around only one wire. If you clamp it around a cord for instance it will read 0 as the hot and return are canceling each other out.
Thank you for the information about the clamp meters. I was able to obtain one and it is proving to be very useful. I will make a new post about it, as I am really kind of off topic for this conversation.
Jamie
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2008, 12:02 PM   #55
DIY Junkie!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: split between Houston, TX and SW KS.
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 150
Default

DIY 200A main service upgrade?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Philip_Soldat View Post
... but in any case I am solid with the procedure from here on, TONS OF THANKS!!!!!
Be sure to come back and let us know how it turns out, Philip!

Dugly

Advertisement


Last edited by YerDugliness; 09-07-2008 at 12:05 PM.
YerDugliness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
2x100a sub on service main jambud Electrical 17 03-12-2008 10:31 AM
Main disconnect box before service panel Cellomangler Electrical 4 02-04-2008 08:43 AM
Service upgrade rondo Electrical 1 05-21-2007 07:19 PM
Arced main lug in service panel burgeke Electrical 4 11-02-2006 12:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts