Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-18-2007, 10:23 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Share |
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


I am installing a heat pump outside of my addition. What is the distance that the disconnect has to be at?

THanks!

sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 10:39 AM   #2
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


Within sight of the unit and readily accessible (this means no more than 50 feet generally). You also are required to have a 15 or 20 amp receptacle within 25 feet of the unit. If that receptacle is outdoors it must be gfci.

EDIT: Be sure to read the literature as to the type of disconnect required and amperage rating. With most single family homes a 60 amp A/C disconnect is the norm and I usually like to locate it within 6 feet of the unit. Then run liquid tite to the unit from the disconnect. Disconnects can be fusible, or just pull out types. By fusible I mean they can have a breaker in them or fuses.

Stubbie


Last edited by Stubbie; 09-18-2007 at 10:48 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 11:16 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,502
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


Keep in mind that the disconnect is for the maintenance or repair of the AC unit. So the tech can turn it off outside without fear of injury or death while working on it. No need to fuse this. Provided it is protected with a fuse or breaker of correct current at the power source. Fusible would more than double the price.

Stubbie.....Are you sure about the recept in a residential application. I'm pretty sure it's not an NEC requirement, but could be a local AHJ requirement. Or I could be wrong. I will look again. If you know the article please let me know....thanks John
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 11:16 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 209
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


I will have a heat pump that runs off of a 2 pole 20 amp breaker.

Why would I need a receptacle?!
sandyman720 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 11:26 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,478
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


The receptacle is required in the nec for serviceing the equipment. It must be located no more than 25' and at the same level as the equipment.
As far as the disconnect, slightly left or right of the unit, so you do not have to lean over the unit to turn off the power, or work on the disconnect.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 12:23 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


Quote:
Stubbie.....Are you sure about the recept in a residential application. I'm pretty sure it's not an NEC requirement, but could be a local AHJ requirement. Or I could be wrong. I will look again. If you know the article please let me know....thanks John
Hi John

Yeah.... the code was changed in 2002 here is a memo form the mike holt site

http://www.mikeholt.com/videodisplay.php?id=9

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 12:54 PM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


Sandyman :

To solve the receptacle requirement just buy an a/c disconnect that has a gfci receptacle already installed in it. It's no big deal, other than you need to run 3 conductor .. (has a neutral) .. to the disconnect. Or any outside gfci receptacle already existing that is within 25 feet will satisfy the requirement. I suppose if you don't have or put one in the world will not quit turning but the HVAC guy will like you for doing it.

You will most likely need to go to an electrical supply to get one I don't know if the places like HD or Lowes carries them but you might look.

I will agree that in almost all cases a non-fusible disconnect meets requirements for single family homes.

JB... why can't it be 25' above the unit.......

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-18-2007 at 01:20 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 02:20 PM   #8
Electrician philosopher
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Lilburn, GA
Posts: 838
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


Stubbie- Its gotta be on the same level. I cheefully install these to meet code but all my HVAC buddies and most service pros I know all carry cordless anyhow. I have used the recp. to charge my Makita battery though.
Andy in ATL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 07:41 PM   #9
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Sandyman :

To solve the receptacle requirement just buy an a/c disconnect that has a gfci receptacle already installed in it. It's no big deal, other than you need to run 3 conductor .. (has a neutral) .. to the disconnect.

You are required to run a separate circuit for the built in gfi.... besides that fact, what if the AC unit was fused at 40 amps, you certainly cannot tap of that to feed the gfi...
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 07:43 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy in ATL View Post
Stubbie- Its gotta be on the same level. I cheefully install these to meet code but all my HVAC buddies and most service pros I know all carry cordless anyhow. I have used the recp. to charge my Makita battery though.
They have cordless evacuation pumps also?

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 08:48 PM   #11
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


Chris thank you for correcting my oversite you are absolutely correct a seperate circuit should be ran to the gfci.

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-18-2007 at 09:00 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 09:04 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Chris thank you for correcting my oversite you are absolutely correct a seperate circuit should be ran to the gfci.

Stubbie
I figured you saw that he was using a 2pole 20amp breaker, but the instructions clearly say you need a separate circuit....
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 09:20 PM   #13
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

Distance for Disconnect?


Yep that is what I was thinking and trying to save him a buck,

The key point as you pointed out is the size of the ocpd and the likelyhood of exceeding the small conductors protective rating if a tap was made from the a/c branch circuit.

Just so people searching can see your point here is a pdf... please take notice to the note at the bottom left on page one.

http://www.cooperbussmann.com/pdf/13...0f0b493ce..pdf

Stubbie


Last edited by Stubbie; 09-22-2007 at 05:29 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Distance between hot water tank and electrical panel? jacknewton Electrical 11 11-05-2011 06:50 AM
Bathroom outlet - distance from tub?? plbsplbs Electrical 11 07-09-2007 08:22 PM
Plumbing distance from Circut Panel Dragon Electrical 7 04-13-2007 06:52 PM
tub drain maximum distance redline Plumbing 3 08-19-2006 08:20 AM
siding distance from shingles? matchupeabody Roofing/Siding 13 11-01-2005 09:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.