Distance Between The Main Breaker Panel And A Manual Transfer Switch Panel - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2010, 04:59 PM   #1
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

Distance between the main breaker panel and a manual transfer switch panel

It's hurricane season, and I want to be better prepared than I have in the past. I have a small portable generator (Duramax XP4400E, 3600 watts), that meets our needs (fridge, room AC, a few lamps, and one small LCD TV).

In years past, I have run a bunch of cords from the generator in the backyard all over the house, but don't want to do it any more.

So I bought a small six circuit manual transfer switch (Reliance Controls 30416A) that can take the feed from the generator (240V, 3P, 4W), and feed to the appropriate 120V circuits.

My main breaker panel is inside the house, and it would be very convenient to mount the transfer switch just one stud over. This means the conduit between the transfer switch is only about 4-5 inches long, and the flush mounts for the two panels are about an inch apart.

Is that a code violation? Can the two panels be so close together? Reliance Controls support personnel say it is not a national code violation.

I'm in Jefferson Parish, Louisiana - anyone know if it is a violation here? Or anywhere else.

Jerry Sr.


jerryallie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 05:40 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
jbfan's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 6,336
Rewards Points: 3,068

Distance between the main breaker panel and a manual transfer switch panel

Not a violation I am aware of!


Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 09:11 PM   #3
" Euro " electrician
frenchelectrican's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000

Distance between the main breaker panel and a manual transfer switch panel


Ya good to go as long it is after the main breaker and I know many manual transfer switch are good set up.

But a nice gotcha is make sure you isolated the netural et grounding if you run thru the transfer swtich { you will have to treat them like subpanel anyway }

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote

generator , main panel , transfer panel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Choosing a manual transfer swtich for 7500 w generator homerb Electrical 11 07-24-2012 01:15 AM
Manual transfer switch to power an existing sub-panel joestewart Electrical 10 11-23-2009 03:30 PM
Adding a Sub Panel for Transfer Switch dcopps Electrical 27 08-24-2009 11:36 AM
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 08:40 PM
Transfer switch to main panel connection i6pwr Electrical 3 01-28-2009 07:09 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts