Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 04-18-2009, 10:25 AM   #1
wilderstyle

Share |

disposal switch from existing outlet

I want to add a switch for my g/disposal under my sink. There is an existing outlet for the DW under there. How do I add a switch from this outlet? I need simple instructions or a tutorial. I am not an electrician.

wilderstyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2009, 10:32 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.

You can add it to this circuit IF it is a 20 amp circuit and is dedicated to the DW. Without that I'd run a new circuit to the new disposal.

You certainly don't need to be a full fledged electrician to do this, but you do need a decent clue about how this stuff works.

I'll let someone else give you a step-by-step tutorial as I prefer not to.

Old 04-18-2009, 10:46 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor

A simple procedure, actually. Just install a "3-way" switch. Wire it so that when the switch is down, power goes to the dishwasher. When the switch is up, power goes to the disposal. Non-coincident loads that way. You can break off the tab on the receptacle outlet to make each half of the duplex dedicated for each appliance.

Detailed instructions?
  1. Turn off power to your outlet under the sink.
  2. Install a piece of 3-conductor cable from your existing outlet to your 3-way switch.
  3. Disconnect the black wire from your outlet, and wire-nut it to the white wire of your switch leg.
  4. Connect the other end of that white wire to the "common" terminal of your 3-way switch.
  5. Connect the black and red wires to the other 2 terminals of your 3-way switch.
  6. Break off the tab on your duplex outlet on the "hot" side of the outlet.
  7. Connect the remaining black and red wires from your switch leg to the 2 terminals on your outlet.
  8. Mount all devices, install wall plates, etc.