Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2012, 03:39 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disposal outlet


Well I've checked the circuits at the panel,all read 119-120,Dbl's at 248. Also went through the breakers room by room again(re-labeled when I moved in) everything matches,but I do have 1-240 and and 1-120 that I couldn't find what they go too. I have the old labeling and it stats the disposal is on 5 but that is not correct.
Could there be a grounding issue? never heard of that causing an outlet not to work but I don't know?

Livonia38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 03:54 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disposal outlet


Ok, checked all the breakers at panel,all read 119-120 and 4 at 250,I went through room by room and it matches the panel labeling,of course there's no disposal on the label. Any other steps you can recommend?
Livonia38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 06:42 PM   #18
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Disposal outlet


Have you checked to see if its the receptacle that's bad?
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 06:50 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Disposal outlet


Is that the same as outlet? if so I changed to old switch and outlet with new ones.
Livonia38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 08:39 PM   #20
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Disposal outlet


next step is to check the line for a short somewhere, disconnect the power and start testing for an open wire somewhere.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:27 PM   #21
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Disposal outlet


Depending on the age of the home, there may be a few junction boxes. Hopefully they are all accessable as they should be.
Good luck friend

MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
small secondary countertop outlet issue rasz Electrical 8 11-07-2011 05:14 PM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 10:13 PM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 09:38 PM
Outlet not working, reading "open ground" syren Electrical 3 04-19-2010 05:20 PM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 11:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.