Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-21-2012, 10:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Disposal outlet


Last week my disposal stopped working, I have swapped out the outlet and the switch,it appears this was an after thought since I found a junction box in the cupboard next to it.I have cut back and stripped wiring at both locations,checked my circuit and verified it's not the disposal.Any ideas?

Livonia38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 10:36 PM   #2
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Disposal outlet


So you are saying that there is no power at the receptacle for the disposal. First thing I would do is turn the breaker for the disposal to the off position then back on and check for voltage at the receptacle.

If still nothing, then I would verify there is power leaving the breaker.

If yes, you have a loose connection somewhere between the panel and the receptacle. If no, replace the breaker.

__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 10:42 PM   #3
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

Disposal outlet


Better explanation please.
Does the disposal outlet have power?
How do you know the disposal is ok?

If the switch and outlet work, the disposal is bad.
If the disposal works, but the outlet/switch dont, then either one or both are bad.
Where is the problem?
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 02:57 AM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,360
Default

Disposal outlet


Feel under the disposal unit for a small reset button. Press it in when you find it, and it should start working again....
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 08:23 AM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Disposal outlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by Livonia38 View Post
Last week my disposal stopped working, I have swapped out the outlet and the switch,it appears this was an after thought since I found a junction box in the cupboard next to it.I have cut back and stripped wiring at both locations,checked my circuit and verified it's not the disposal.Any ideas?
I'm not sure I am convinced of this, and I have a feeling we will never know the whole story.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:00 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Disposal outlet


First I appreciate the feedback, but yes I have tried the reset button the disposal, I verified the disposal works by plugging it in at a different outlet. The breaker has power,the fridge and the disposal are on the same circuit to my knowledge those are the only 2 on that circuit and has been since purchasing the home.At this point I'm thinking maybe another connection somewhere that I'm not aware of.
Livonia38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:06 AM   #7
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,335
Default

Disposal outlet


Did you check for voltage at the junction box you remade the splices in?

Did you check for voltage at the switch?

If you know the fridge is on that circuit, did you pull the fridge receptacle out and check for connections in there? A backstabbed receptacle could be the culprit.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 09:10 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Disposal outlet


Yes I check for voltage at the junction box and at new switch and outlet they both read 00.00, but no I have not tried looking at the fridge outlet,I will look at that today,thanks I'll post when I have looked at that.
Livonia38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 12:49 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Disposal outlet


Well I've checked the fridge outlet,it stands alone so the disposal is on another circuit.It's possible its on the kitchen circuit but have no way of telling with out hte outlet getting power, the rest of the kitchen is fine.Any ideas of a next step or just call an electrician?
Livonia38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:04 PM   #10
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

Disposal outlet


Do your best to trace the circuit either to or from the panel.
If you know which breaker controls the disposal outlet, turn it off and check which devices go off with it.
Once you determine which devices are on this circuit, you may be able to track down where the problem lies.

A bit of investigation can go a long way, or calling in a professional is a good idea too
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:13 PM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Disposal outlet


Disposal may be on its own breaker. I know its tedious but it may be worth the ten minutes to check each breaker in your panel for voltage.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:18 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Disposal outlet


Mister Z, what would be the best way to trace it out?T his will be my first time attempting.
Andrew 79, on my digital volt meter,whats the range I should be looking for per circuit in the panel?
Livonia38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:25 PM   #13
"So I Re-Wired It"
 
MisterZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NorthEast USA
Posts: 258
Default

Disposal outlet


Like i said, turn off breaker, check to see if any outlets or lights stop working.
This way youll know if anything else is on the circuit. You can buy a tool called "circuit detective" which helps locate what devices are on which breakers. Very helpful if you have a mismarked panel.

Voltage at the breaker will read around 120v. It is li,ely the disposal is on its own circuit tho.
If you are going to check voltage at panel, please be cautious. Black probe on ground bus bar, red probe on brass breaker nut. Set meter to correct voltage

Last edited by MisterZ; 07-22-2012 at 01:28 PM.
MisterZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:28 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Disposal outlet


Ok I'll check out the panel,will post when done. Thanks
Livonia38 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 02:29 PM   #15
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

Disposal outlet


Agreed and can't stress enough to make sure you have the right setting. A meter set to ohms on a live source has the potential to go off like a grenade.

__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
small secondary countertop outlet issue rasz Electrical 8 11-07-2011 04:14 PM
Odd voltages at outlet TJF Electrical 12 11-01-2011 09:13 PM
Outlet before light switch; Open Neutral? Fox Electrical 21 09-26-2010 08:38 PM
Outlet not working, reading "open ground" syren Electrical 3 04-19-2010 04:20 PM
Adding additional outlet. Pigtail four sets of wires? svanhess Electrical 5 07-12-2009 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.