Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2012, 04:27 PM   #1
Bruce
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: KS
Posts: 16
Share |
Default

Dishwasher install


We're replacing our cabinets, and getting a new dishwasher. Cabinets aren't here yet, but I'm starting to plan for appliance installation. The Bosch dishwasher we bought (http://www.bosch-home.com/us/SHX55RL5UC.html?a=b) has instructions for hard-wiring, although it says it can also be modified for plug-in connection.
The instructions just show the romex left bare (no conduit) running from the back of the wall under the dishwasher to the front connections. Is this really okay?!? Would it be better to purchase the power cord for it, and set it up that way?
My concern about this is knowing where to place the outlet so that it won't interfere with the dishwasher when I push it back into place.

Any thoughts?

Thanks!


Last edited by abjkkc; 10-05-2012 at 04:27 PM. Reason: spelling goof - typing too quick
abjkkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 05:05 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Dishwasher install


You are fine just running a piece of romex out of the wall near the bottom. Leave a good 4' coiled up for now and cut it to length after the dishwasher is set and you are ready to tie it in.

Trane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:41 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,896
Default

Dishwasher install


Quote:
Originally Posted by Trane View Post
You are fine just running a piece of romex out of the wall near the bottom. Leave a good 4' coiled up for now and cut it to length after the dishwasher is set and you are ready to tie it in.
Not true in many locations. Often you need to provide a disconnect. This can be a wall mounted switch or a plug and receptacle. Personally I like to put the receptacle in the adjacent sink base cabinet and install a cord/plug on the DW.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:59 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
Default

Dishwasher install


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Not true in many locations. Often you need to provide a disconnect. This can be a wall mounted switch or a plug and receptacle. Personally I like to put the receptacle in the adjacent sink base cabinet and install a cord/plug on the DW.
It's true as far as the NEC. If a certain location has a different amendment, then that is a different story. Kinda like the way you can't use romex in Chicago.
Trane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 07:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 377
Default

Dishwasher install


Although plenty of people do it with direction connection as stated in the manual, Bosch makes it very easy to hookup to a power cord.

So when I installed my Bosch (SHX45P06UC) dishwasher, I used an universal power cord kit to make my dishwasher a plugin unit which made it easier to remove for maintenance/troubleshooting/upgrades.

The 3 prong power cord has thicker sheathing and more flexible. In addition, 6' cord length gave me plenty of space maneuver the unit for maintenance/troubleshooting/upgrades.

One thing to keep in mind is that I haven't seen these cords with flat plug heads so I installed a recessed receptacle box. I could have installed a receptacle box under my sink but with water filters, multiple shutoffs, etc., I just did not want to chance it being exposed to water leaks.

You may want contact your inspector to see what method is acceptable for your town.

Good luck
allthumbsdiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 07:53 PM   #6
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,078
Default

Dishwasher install


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles

Not true in many locations. Often you need to provide a disconnect. This can be a wall mounted switch or a plug and receptacle. Personally I like to put the receptacle in the adjacent sink base cabinet and install a cord/plug on the DW.
If it's a dedicated line from the Panel wouldn't the breaker serve as the disconnect?

Last edited by sublime2; 10-05-2012 at 07:57 PM.
sublime2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: NJ
Posts: 377
Default

Dishwasher install


Quote:
Originally Posted by Trane View Post
It's true as far as the NEC. If a certain location has a different amendment, then that is a different story. Kinda like the way you can't use romex in Chicago.
so what do they use in Chicago, BX? Do you know if there is a particular logic behind that decision (i.e. pests, etc.)
allthumbsdiy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:31 PM   #8
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,896
Default

Dishwasher install


Quote:
Originally Posted by sublime2 View Post
If it's a dedicated line from the Panel wouldn't the breaker serve as the disconnect?
A disconnect has to be in sight of the appliance. Seldom is the panel close enough to the kitchen to meet that requiement.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:33 PM   #9
Pure Genius
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dayton OH
Posts: 221
Default

Dishwasher install


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles

A disconnect has to be in sight of the appliance. Seldom is the panel close enough to the kitchen to meet that requiement.
But a breaker lock takes care of this
Dierte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:02 AM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,896
Default

Dishwasher install


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dierte View Post
But a breaker lock takes care of this
Only if you can see it from the dish washer.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:12 AM   #11
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Dishwasher install


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
Only if you can see it from the dish washer.
Not true, a breaker lock is acceptable if out of sight. That is the point. You can't see the breaker, so you lock it to keep it turned off instead of visually monitoring it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
rjniles (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 06:41 AM   #12
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,896
Default

Dishwasher install


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dierte View Post
But a breaker lock takes care of this
I misread your post, I thought it said breaker box (instead of lock). Certainly a breaker lock accomplishes the requirement.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:32 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,857
Default

Dishwasher install


Quote:
Originally Posted by allthumbsdiy View Post
so what do they use in Chicago, BX? Do you know if there is a particular logic behind that decision (i.e. pests, etc.)
I believe it is because of vermin chewing on the wires. Not in Chicago, but I once owned a house where all the wiring was in metal conduit.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to md2lgyk For This Useful Post:
allthumbsdiy (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 07:35 AM   #14
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Dishwasher install


The more common theory is that this is a union code. If you are forced to use conduit, that rules out 95% of homeowners and unqualified handymen doing electrical work.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to k_buz For This Useful Post:
allthumbsdiy (10-06-2012), jrclen (10-08-2012), stickboy1375 (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 12:14 PM   #15
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,325
Default

Dishwasher install


.................................

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.

Last edited by Jim Port; 10-06-2012 at 10:44 PM. Reason: correction
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for help on how to install recessed soffit. Snoopy_ Roofing/Siding 2 09-04-2012 03:45 PM
dishwasher install - replacing copper feh Plumbing 7 03-21-2012 03:12 PM
New dishwasher install -- plumbing help kb01 Plumbing 3 04-23-2011 11:51 AM
Install a dishwasher in an existing kitchen cabinet shapeshifter Remodeling 9 03-16-2008 01:05 PM
Poratable Dishwasher help oiram Appliances 4 02-09-2007 04:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.