Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-19-2011, 06:12 AM   #31
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,670
Share |
Default

Dishwasher Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey cassiba View Post
all ceiling fixtures(lights, and fans are on this single breaker. Sounds like a hack job I know, but that is how the thing was built. 1968 Amherst MH. Still has the factory inspection(QC) stickers on the Breaker cover.
This is a serious code violation and dangerous situation. General purpose lighting and receptacle circuits are limited to 20 amp maximum. Additionally the wiring is to small for that breaker; #14 is limited to 15 amps, #12 is limited to 20 amps.

I doubt even in 1968 a mobile home builder would have used a 30 amp breaker for that circuit.. Sounds like some one changed it later on. Maybe because the breaker was bad or more likely it was tripping due to overload.

That condition needs to be corrected
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 06:23 AM   #32
just a tool guy
 
mickey cassiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 255
Default

Dishwasher Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
This is a serious code violation and dangerous situation. General purpose lighting and receptacle circuits are limited to 20 amp maximum. Additionally the wiring is to small for that breaker; #14 is limited to 15 amps, #12 is limited to 20 amps.

I doubt even in 1968 a mobile home builder would have used a 30 amp breaker for that circuit.. Sounds like some one changed it later on. Maybe because the breaker was bad or more likely it was tripping due to overload.

That condition needs to be corrected
All wiring I have found in the MH is 12G...Would replacing the 30 with a 20 work?We can afford a new breaker...a rewire is financially out of the question. Alternately, I could break the overhead circuit into two or more 'zones, I'll still have 3 empty slots in the box, after the DW install. (and can a fixture bok be used as a JB as long as fill is not exceeded?)
__________________
Mickey

One of these hammers will fix it.
mickey cassiba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 07:00 AM   #33
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Default

Dishwasher Install


Change the 30 amp cb to a 20. Than see if everything works without tripping breaker. It is possible the 30 was put in because it was tripping the 20. If so than splitting the circuits would be a good way to go.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 07:21 AM   #34
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,670
Default

Dishwasher Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by NJMarine View Post
Change the 30 amp cb to a 20. Than see if everything works without tripping breaker. It is possible the 30 was put in because it was tripping the 20. If so than splitting the circuits would be a good way to go.
+1, that is the way to go.

Yes using the fixture as a jb is fine, as long as you keep wire fills in mind.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina

Last edited by rjniles; 09-19-2011 at 07:23 AM.
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 07:30 AM   #35
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Dishwasher Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by NJMarine View Post
Change the 30 amp cb to a 20. Than see if everything works without tripping breaker. It is possible the 30 was put in because it was tripping the 20. If so than splitting the circuits would be a good way to go.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post
+1, that is the way to go.

Yes using the fixture as a jb is fine, as long as you keep wire fills in mind.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
mickey cassiba (09-19-2011)
Old 09-19-2011, 03:11 PM   #36
just a tool guy
 
mickey cassiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 255
Default

Dishwasher Install


Last question...I promiseIf I am to use an appliance cord, to make the hook up, is there a single outlet 120V receptacle available(Neighbor's a little old), and I don't want her plugging another appliance into the box. All I can seem to find are duplex receptacles. I know I could use a 240V receptacle(the single type) but that might mislead anyone that follows my work. Or do I glue a 'kid safe" into the second receptacle?
__________________
Mickey

One of these hammers will fix it.
mickey cassiba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 03:16 PM   #37
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,911
Default

Dishwasher Install


I would just use a standard gfci for the dishwasher. And just place a kid-safe into the outlet, but do not glue it in. That way, if you ever have to work on it, and need a place for a drop light, it is right there.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: So what'll happen?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 03:20 PM   #38
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,670
Default

Dishwasher Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey cassiba View Post
Last question...I promiseIf I am to use an appliance cord, to make the hook up, is there a single outlet 120V receptacle available(Neighbor's a little old), and I don't want her plugging another appliance into the box. All I can seem to find are duplex receptacles. I know I could use a 240V receptacle(the single type) but that might mislead anyone that follows my work. Or do I glue a 'kid safe" into the second receptacle?
As long as the receptacle is behind the DW a duplex is fine. If you want a single 20 amp receptacle you need a NEMA 5-20R. Probably will not find at a big box but any electrical supply house will have it.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 03:25 PM   #39
just a tool guy
 
mickey cassiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 255
Default

Dishwasher Install


Thank you all...hiding the receptacle will work...Nema type is out of budget....used a lot of them in the factories, and they're not cheap, err inexpensive.
Hi Ho, it's off to work I go.
__________________
Mickey

One of these hammers will fix it.
mickey cassiba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 06:43 PM   #40
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Default

Dishwasher Install


Quote:
Originally Posted by mickey cassiba View Post
Thank you all...hiding the receptacle will work...Nema type is out of budget....used a lot of them in the factories, and they're not cheap, err inexpensive.
Hi Ho, it's off to work I go.
NEMA type is a configuration, not a grade or brand.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Code05 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (09-19-2011)
Old 09-20-2011, 05:17 AM   #41
just a tool guy
 
mickey cassiba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Deep South Texas
Posts: 255
Default

Dishwasher Install


I know...but thanks just the same.
__________________
Mickey

One of these hammers will fix it.
mickey cassiba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2011, 06:56 AM   #42
Lic Elect/Inspector/CPO
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 369
Default

Dishwasher Install


NEMA 5-20R are in big box stores. The lst one I bought cost about 5.00.
Using a duplex is fine and is less expensive.
NJMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dishwasher install - replacing copper feh Plumbing 7 03-21-2012 03:12 PM
New dishwasher install -- plumbing help kb01 Plumbing 3 04-23-2011 11:51 AM
Dishwasher circuit tripping magnolia Electrical 5 10-29-2010 09:59 PM
Preparing to install Kerdi on bathtub surround DIY-Renovator Flooring 18 07-17-2008 10:42 AM
Install a dishwasher in an existing kitchen cabinet shapeshifter Remodeling 9 03-16-2008 01:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.