Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 09-17-2011, 12:55 PM   #1
just a tool guy

Share |

Dishwasher Install

First...I am not a licensed electrician, but I do have more than a few years of industrial wiring under my belt.That said here is my question:
I am doing a new install of a new dishwasher. I have room in the breaker box for a new breaker, and the total amperage of the existing circuits leaves me enough amperage (still less than 80% of the main breaker) for the addition of the manufacturer suggested 15 amp circuit. I have checked with the local permit board, and have been told no permit is required to install this dedicated circuit.I feel like I'm good to go so far. I guess that the question is really here...The customer insisted on buying the supplies herself, using my shopping list. She did well, except in her choice of wire. I specified exterior rated 12/2 romex type cable, which she apparently could not find(or the price wowed her) and instead bought type NM-B which I know is interior rated stuff. The install is in a mobile home with the thick black 'celotex' type board beneath the joists. If I remove the insulating boad and intal my cable, will that qualify as 'interior' usage? The board will be replaced after everything is in and tested. There will be no UV exposure, and the temps do not exceed the rating of the cable. She has left town for two months, and is pretty much incommunicado, so I cannot get the reciept for the cable to return and replace. Nor can I afford to replace it on my dime. The mobile home is highly unlikely to be moved, as it's on a permanent foundation.
Am I tempting fate, or will the NMB suffice?

One of these hammers will fix it.
mickey cassiba is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mickey cassiba For This Useful Post:
JohnDsouza (09-20-2011)
Old 09-17-2011, 01:54 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"