Dishwasher Electrical Wire - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2005, 08:52 AM   #1
feb
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


I bought a new dishwasher and ofcourse the electrical wire did not come with it. I went to lowes and bought an electrical wire for home appliances. The wire has no white and black wires - - only two blacks and a green. How do I know which wire to connect to the black and which to the white?

FEB

Advertisement

feb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 09:44 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 75
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


Feb,

The wire you bought will work providing it is the right gauge. However, I would go and buy some NMD7-2 12 gauge (black, white and bare ground) even it it were just to conform to code.

Advertisement

'Andyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 10:44 AM   #3
feb
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


I don't have it in front of me but I think it is a 15 amp 12ga for appliance replacement. One of the wire is rough and one is smooth.
feb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 12:23 PM   #4
Remodeler
 
MinConst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spring Hill FL.
Posts: 436
Rewards Points: 250
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


feb has a good point. Wire is generally marked in some way to be able to tell it apart even if the insulation is the same color. A stripe, rouch and smooth slight color change in the wire itself. Something. Look closely. And as 'Andy said be sure the sire is the right guage for your appliance.
__________________
Minichillo's Construction
I will never leave you hanging!
Web
One Man Shops
MinConst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 12:29 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


Does this wire come with a plug? Did you have a dishwasher before? If you had one before, the wire should still be there. If so, then you just connect the wires to the junction box in front of the dishwasher. If you did not have one before, then you will need a new circuit from your panel to hook up the dishwasher. It sounds like the cord you have is a replacement cord.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 01:41 PM   #6
feb
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


I gave my old dishwasher to my son. I let him have it with all the hookups - wire included. the new wire has a plug as did the old one. It is not hardwired, it is a plugin to the wall.
feb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 01:43 PM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


Does the plug match the outlet? One of the black wires should have a stripe on it. Are you located in the US?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 02:20 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


After rereading your post and looking at lowes I see what you may have purchased. If it is like you say, one side smooth and one side ribbed, then the ribbed side will go to the white wire, and the smooth side will go to the black wire The cord is described as being only 3 feet long, and is used for a disposal. Is this the cord youo bought?
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 03:28 PM   #9
feb
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


I saw what you were looking at and mine looks to be the same ( I am not at home at the moment) except that mine is 6' long. The guy in the appliance dept told me that was the right cord and it didn't matter which wire went to the black (because it is alternating current:confused: )as long as the ground was hooked up. Is that correct?

feb
feb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 03:54 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 253
Rewards Points: 250
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


Quote:
Originally Posted by feb
I saw what you were looking at and mine looks to be the same ( I am not at home at the moment) except that mine is 6' long. The guy in the appliance dept told me that was the right cord and it didn't matter which wire went to the black (because it is alternating current:confused: )as long as the ground was hooked up. Is that correct?

feb
No. Go smack that guy.
K2eoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 04:33 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,955
Rewards Points: 2,306
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


I agree with hammer... Go slap the guy. If you listen to him, you can get yourself hurt!!!!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2005, 03:15 PM   #12
feb
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


Ok, the cord I bought for the dishwasher is as follows:

13A
125V
1625W

This cord is about 3' short because with the new cabinets, the dishwasher had to be moved over 2ft. I bought an extension cord with the following:

15A
125V
1875W

Is this ok to run it like that. I can't find a replacement cord that is the length I need. I would have to buy an extension cord and cut it the length I need.

Thanks,
Feb.
feb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 10:13 AM   #13
Long-Time DIYer
 
Mike Swearingen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: On Albemarle Sound In Northeastern NC
Posts: 1,460
Rewards Points: 500
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


Do NOT use an extension cord.
A dishwasher requires a dedicated circuit. Codes usually require a 15 amp breaker with 14/2-with-ground wiring, but I always recommend going with a 20 amp circuit and 12/2 in case anyone ever wanted to install a heavy-duty dw, if anyone is wiring from scratch.
As you've already been advised, if it's on a 15 amp breaker, get either an adequate length of at least 14/2wg or better yet, 12/2wg (black=hot, white=neutral, bare/green=ground) and wire it properly with a solid wire from the dw to the plug.
Good Luck!
Mike
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 02:31 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


can someone confirm the ribbed side of the appliance cord goes to the white wire
shaneonl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2008, 07:54 PM   #15
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,632
Rewards Points: 1,058
Default

dishwasher electrical wire


On any flat cord, 2 or 3 wire, the ribbed side is always the neutral.

On a recpacle, the larger slot is always neutral. If it's installed with the ground pin down, the neutral is on the left. Ground up, it's on the right. Now, hold the cord like it's about to be plugged in, you'll notice the ribbed side is on the neutral side.

On a 2 wire cord, you'll notice the ribbed side is on same side as the thicker prong. It can only be inserted into a recpacle one way; with the ribbed side in the neutral slot.

Rob

Advertisement

micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running speaker wire parallel to electrical wire spyguy Electrical 3 02-21-2007 03:10 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM
got rid of kitchen island, how to get rid of the electrical wire from floor ckcrew Electrical 15 12-14-2006 10:45 AM
How do I drill the hole in the wall if I don't know location of electrical wire popkadurak Remodeling 10 06-16-2006 11:06 AM
sliced electrical wire farrington135 Electrical 1 02-08-2006 06:18 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts