Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-08-2009, 07:30 PM   #16
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Share |
Default

Dishwasher circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Knucklez View Post
from NEC 2008



when i read this, i think my DW is not over 300V, so i can use the breaker panel as the ON/OFF. no mention of locking device requirement here (but probably elsewhere in NEC). doi understand this correct?
That's 300 VA, aka watts, not volts. Check the name plate, it probably has a heater, and draws more than 300 watts. Look at 422.31(B)

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 07:06 PM   #17
Member
 
Knucklez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 800
Default

Dishwasher circuit


oh, you're right. i was wondering...
__________________
"if you can't be handsome, at least you can be handy" -Redgreen
Knucklez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 09:42 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Default

Dishwasher circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by theatretch85 View Post
I have never seen a dishwasher with a disconnect other than the breaker in the main panel. Every dishwasher I have seen has been hardwired in and usually shares a MWBC with the garbage disposal. Of course the garabage disposal I have seen both plugin and hardwired versions and always has a switch above the countertop.
My dishwasher is hard wired and then above it, is a wall switch that can turn it off. It is in a double gang box with the switch for the disposal.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:39 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 995
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Dishwasher circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewF View Post
My dishwasher is hard wired and then above it, is a wall switch that can turn it off. It is in a double gang box with the switch for the disposal.
There is a double gang box above my dishwasher too, but one switch controls the light over the sink, the other controls the garbage disposal. This box also has 3 circuits running to it, one for the light, and a MWBC to split out for the garbage disposal and the dishwasher (so it wouldn't be difficult to put in a switch for the DW).

Since I'd imagine this dishwasher uses more than 300Va, it probably should be required to have a disconnect, but honestly I am not going to worry about it. I've done plenty of work already updating and changing things to meet code around here and putting in a switch for the DW is hardly one I am worried about.

theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 03:25 PM
Dishwasher installation Andy Griffith General DIY Discussions 3 03-02-2009 06:06 AM
Does a Dishwasher need it's own dedicated circuit? Casey_Oakland Electrical 46 02-22-2009 06:35 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.