Dish Washer Hook Up - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-24-2010, 04:41 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dish washer hook up


We just bought a new townhouse in Henderson, NV. The builder had installed the dishwasher so it was tilted back and to the right. We asked that it be reinstalled straight, which they did. However, they did not make sure that the plug would reach the outlet! Now they just added an extension cord and called it fixed! It that to code? Is it even safe?

Advertisement

el44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 04:43 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Dish washer hook up


Where is the receptacle located?

Usually dishwashers don't come with cords. You are given the option to either hard wire it directly or provide your own cord and plug.

Off the top of my head, I am not sure about how your situations sits with the electrical code, but I would NOT accept that in a new house. Have them come back and install the correct length cord and plug, or relocate the receptacle.

Advertisement


Last edited by Proby; 07-24-2010 at 04:46 PM.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 04:45 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dish washer hook up


Under the sink, just a few feet from the dishwasher. When they installed it initially, it plugged in fine. They probably got the cord caught on something when they did the second installation.
el44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 04:48 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Dish washer hook up


Quote:
Originally Posted by el44 View Post
Under the sink, just a few feet from the dishwasher. When they installed it initially, it plugged in fine. They probably got the cord caught on something when they did the second installation.
Gotcha, I didn't realize that it worked originally so disregard the edit to my original post.

A pinched cord is a fire hazard waiting to happen, I would certainly have them fix it and ask if they did other "fixes" like this when building the building.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dish washer not cleaning properly cliffordjuli@yahoo.com Plumbing 5 10-19-2008 07:47 PM
Dish washer door gasket deck hand Appliances 7 04-08-2008 09:31 PM
Washer Hook Up helpless handyman Plumbing 3 03-11-2008 03:08 PM
Dish washer replacement 68MHJCs Appliances 1 02-08-2008 02:20 PM
Is it possible I have a 220 running to my dish washer? aljanney Electrical 25 02-15-2007 11:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts