Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-15-2010, 06:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Nitwit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rochester Hills MI
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Disconnect Switches


When a DPST disconnect switch is rated for 200 amps, does that mean per pole or both poles combined?

Nitwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 07:27 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,706
Default

Disconnect Switches


Per pole.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 07:40 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Nitwit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rochester Hills MI
Posts: 15
Default

Disconnect Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Per pole.
Thanks for the reply but now this raises another question.

A Breaker rated for 200 amps means 100 amps per side, correct?
Nitwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 07:41 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,687
Default

Disconnect Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitwit View Post
When a DPST disconnect switch is rated for 200 amps, does that mean per pole or both poles combined?
As brric says. It is per pole.

A 30A SP toggle switch, a 30A two-pole single phase disconnect, a 30A 3-phase disconnect or a 30A four pole lighting contactor are all 30A rated devices.

This applies to switches, circuit breakers, panels, etc. Anything that has one or more "poles" or "phases".
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 07:42 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,687
Default

Disconnect Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitwit View Post

A Breaker rated for 200 amps means 100 amps per side, correct?
No. Poles are NOT combined.
See my last reply.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 07:54 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Nitwit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rochester Hills MI
Posts: 15
Default

Disconnect Switches


What I meant to say is "A breaker PANEL rated for 200 amps wold take (2) 100 amp mains max?
Nitwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 07:59 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Disconnect Switches


No a 200a panel takes/supplies 200a on each pole
Go over ~200a on either side & the breaker trips
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 08:07 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Nitwit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rochester Hills MI
Posts: 15
Default

Disconnect Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
No a 200a panel takes 200a on each pole
My sticker on my square d panel says 150 amps and I have 2-60 amp mains.
This is why I was confused. So everything is rated amps per pole or side.
Thanks again.
Nitwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 08:18 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

Disconnect Switches


How old is that panel? It sounds like you have one of those old-style split-bus panels, with (2) 60 Amp mains there ....

Care to post a picture of the guts of that panel, with the cover removed?
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 08:19 PM   #10
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Disconnect Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitwit View Post
My sticker on my square d panel says 150 amps and I have 2-60 amp mains.
Just to clarify, you have a single 2-pole 60A breaker acting as the main for the panel, correct?

That is normal, you simply have a smaller breaker than the panel can handle. The panel could handle up to 150A, if desired.

A 200A breaker will give 200A on each of (2) 120V circuits. Or it will give 200A on one 240V circuit.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:05 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Nitwit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rochester Hills MI
Posts: 15
Default

Disconnect Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Proby View Post
Just to clarify, you have a single 2-pole 60A breaker acting as the main for the panel, correct?

That is normal, you simply have a smaller breaker than the panel can handle. The panel could handle up to 150A, if desired.

A 200A breaker will give 200A on each of (2) 120V circuits. Or it will give 200A on one 240V circuit.
No, I have (2) 2pole 60 amp main breakers.


Nitwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:11 PM   #12
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Disconnect Switches


Yes, a split bus.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.

Last edited by Proby; 08-15-2010 at 10:16 PM.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:21 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Nitwit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Rochester Hills MI
Posts: 15
Default

Disconnect Switches


From 1977. Should I upgrade?
Nitwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 10:26 PM   #14
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Default

Disconnect Switches


Quote:
Originally Posted by Nitwit View Post
From 1977. Should I upgrade?
I don't know.

I don't know much about split bus panels, when I first saw your picture I thought it was a main lug only panel until I traced some of the wires

Square D QO is a good panel and you can buy new breakers if you are having an issue.

I personally don't see any reason to upgrade unless you are looking for a project.

Hopefully someone else with more splitbus experience will chime in.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2010, 05:26 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

Disconnect Switches


YOU have more than 2 main breakers there. The entire top section consists of 4 to 6 double-pole breakers, which combined together constitute your "service disconnects". You have to turn them all off to shut down all the power in the premises. The ones labeled "Main" only feed into the bottom sections of the panel -- controlling the single pole loads.

I am more concerned with that breaker labeled "Generator" which is in the off position.

Is that connected to a generator for back feeding the panel? Without a proper isolation interlockit or transfer switch, you have a potentially dangerous situation and a major code violation.

I would upgrade, and install either a generator sub-panel, or a proper interlock kit in the new box.

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about switches on a 20 amp circuit Abs777 Electrical 6 04-28-2010 10:09 AM
30A Air Conditioner Disconnect JPWMU Electrical 6 04-19-2010 03:55 PM
small solar disconnect switches rescrewableE Electrical 1 01-02-2010 07:55 PM
Replacing switches turning into nightmare. RyanD Electrical 19 05-26-2009 06:19 PM
Generator with 2 transfer switches? Isaac-1 Electrical 4 03-16-2009 07:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.