Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2009, 02:51 PM   #1
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


Why do some electricians INSIST on hanging a disconnect on the service panels of roof top equip and resi A/Cs?

Not looking to start a bashing war, but it seems to always happen on the most inaccessible units.

Is there a reason for this that I am just not getting?

Thanks.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 02:54 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Why do some electricians INSIST on hanging a disconnect on the service panels of roof top equip and resi A/Cs?

Not looking to start a bashing war, but it seems to always happen on the most inaccessible units.

Is there a reason for this that I am just not getting?

Thanks.
No idea, other than stupidity. Its a code violation to boot, Art. 440.14

chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 03:08 PM   #3
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


Must be getting lax at the bldg department. I permitted a new roof top unit and the sub mounted it to the control cover panel. Elec inspector is a part timer.

I complained to him and he blew it off. No enforcement. Found out he didn't even go on the roof.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 03:12 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Must be getting lax at the bldg department. I permitted a new roof top unit and the sub mounted it to the control cover panel. Elec inspector is a part timer.

I complained to him and he blew it off. No enforcement. Found out he didn't even go on the roof.
I cant believe an electrician would slap a disconnect on a cover he may need access to. A true Git-R-Done if you ask me.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 03:20 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


seeing is believing ....this was a permitted job when it was new. The HO put the condenser fan motor in
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 02-26-2009 at 03:22 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 04:27 PM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Elec inspector is a part timer.
There you go. Best of Craigslist I bet too.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 04:56 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
There you go. Best of Craigslist I bet too.

Just to be clear, that is not one of my jobs.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 05:01 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 0
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


That looks like one way to reverse the rotation on a motor
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 06:46 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


I've aint never done it. I are smart.


Why don't the MFG's simply build one in?

A lot of times, especially with condersing units, there isn't a decent place to hang one.

The Trane RTU's I installed on my house had an absolutely terrible design to get the power to the control area.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 06:49 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: N.W. of Chicago
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


The HO probably saw the raintite disconnect upside down and followed with the fan motor!!!
__________________
If it's true that you learn from your mistakes- I'm getting one heck of an education
thumbkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 06:53 PM   #11
Res Ipsa Loquitur
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Southeastern PA
Posts: 363
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


That's Creative!
__________________
Did you ever stop to think, then forget to start again?
handyman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 08:23 PM   #12
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
I've aint never done it. I are smart.


Why don't the MFG's simply build one in?

A lot of times, especially with condersing units, there isn't a decent place to hang one.

The Trane RTU's I installed on my house had an absolutely terrible design to get the power to the control area.
So where'd you hang it?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 09:53 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


and why couldn't we mount the disc. on the wall.... :-?
patriot1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2009, 10:54 PM   #14
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


Quote:
Originally Posted by patriot1 View Post
and why couldn't we mount the disc. on the wall.... :-?
That's the topic of this thread...but that AIN'T one of my jobs.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2009, 05:59 AM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,847
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Disconnect on HVAC equipment


The only time EVER to mount a disc on a unit is a rooftop installation.
There are KO's on the fixed panels where you can mount it. Thing is the manufacturers are partly to blame because the KO layout is usually terrible.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 07:28 AM
Lug Only Panel jamiedolan Electrical 26 01-19-2009 02:21 PM
Buying HVAC Equipment EarthCreepin HVAC 3 08-01-2008 09:00 PM
Ground question. mystery guest Electrical 5 07-24-2008 12:47 PM
Sub panel grounding sluggermike Electrical 27 11-11-2007 01:23 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.