Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-20-2010, 07:23 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 107
Share |
Question

Disabling unused outlets during remodel


Is it acceptable to cap/tape over the leads into a 120v receptacle when no longer needed during a remodel or do you always have to trace back to the source and disconnect there? In this case the receptacle appears to be the last one in the series with nothing running off of it. Related question applies to a porch light which won't be needed because that area will become a new room during the remodel. That would be easier to disable at the switch-I think.

Mi Feller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 07:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,861
Default

Disabling unused outlets during remodel


1. Yes you can take the leads off the receptacle, tape (or cap) them one at a time, then curl the wires up in the box and put a blank cover on. The cover must remain exposed.

2. Leave it connected and insert child proof caps into the receptacle slots.

3. If you do disconnect both ends of a cable, you can bury that cable in the wall with no boxes, no covers. It is preferable to put labels on both ends describing where the opposite end is located in case a future owner may want to resurrect the cable.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.

Last edited by AllanJ; 04-20-2010 at 07:33 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
Mi Feller (04-20-2010)
Old 04-20-2010, 07:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Default

Disabling unused outlets during remodel


Live wires must remain in an accessible box
So if you leave them live (capped) the box must remain
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 wire outlets: connect neutral to ground? border collie Electrical 19 04-12-2013 12:29 PM
Power leading to outlets but no power ? s_anthony Electrical 22 01-05-2009 01:08 PM
outlets work, but barely (?) joeyboy Electrical 7 08-27-2008 08:37 AM
Electical planning for remodel wease Electrical 10 12-09-2006 10:36 AM
Problem W/ Power after Switching Outlets... G19-Fanatic Electrical 17 08-28-2006 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.