Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2010, 02:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

Direct Wiring a stove


I have an old house. I am remodeling my kitchen and am putting in an oven. The old oven was directly wired and the issue I am having is there is 4 wires coming out of my oven and only 3 from the circuit box. Black,Red,White,Green are coming from my oven and Black, Red, Ground coming from my circuit box.
Not sure where to put the whit neutral wire. Green to ground I guess, black to black and red to red. But not sure about the white neutral. can anyone help?

javajunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 03:30 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA area
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to sprtskhne33 Send a message via Yahoo to sprtskhne33
Default

Direct Wiring a stove


If you are remodeling, you should run new wire, and go with 6/3 with ground. That way, white to white, black to black, red to red, and ground to green.

sprtskhne33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 04:24 PM   #3
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 3,981
Default

Direct Wiring a stove


You need to read the wiring instructions for your new oven. If you have a straight 240 volt oven, you don't need the neutral wire. If your controls run on 120, you definitely need the neutral, and you need to run 3 wire with ground as previously noted by another poster.

To determine the wire size, you need to check the installation instructions, they will tell you what size breaker you need, which will then tell you what size wire you need.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 04:45 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA area
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to sprtskhne33 Send a message via Yahoo to sprtskhne33
Default

Direct Wiring a stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
You need to read the wiring instructions for your new oven. If you have a straight 240 volt oven, you don't need the neutral wire. If your controls run on 120, you definitely need the neutral, and you need to run 3 wire with ground as previously noted by another poster.

To determine the wire size, you need to check the installation instructions, they will tell you what size breaker you need, which will then tell you what size wire you need.
It would be 6/3 with ground and a 50 amp breaker. They are 50amp breakers unless it's a pizza oven.
sprtskhne33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 07:34 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Direct Wiring a stove


Most wall oven the single verison typically take 30 amp circuit however make sure you have 4 conductor set up to be on safe side.

But for double oven or other odd set up I really advise to read the manufacter info sheet they will list the ampacity on the unit so you can able bring out proper conductor size for it.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 08:15 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA area
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to sprtskhne33 Send a message via Yahoo to sprtskhne33
Default

Direct Wiring a stove


30 amp is for clothes dryer, not ranges.
sprtskhne33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2010, 08:30 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

Direct Wiring a stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by sprtskhne33 View Post
30 amp is for clothes dryer, not ranges.
Reread it I say OVEN not the range that make the diffrence.

And I have ran quite few single wall oven and most useally wired for 30 amp circuit but the double wall oven useally take 40 amp circuits { unless stated otherwise with manufacter nameplate info }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 05:09 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pittsburgh, PA area
Posts: 16
Send a message via AIM to sprtskhne33 Send a message via Yahoo to sprtskhne33
Default

Direct Wiring a stove


If it's an oven, then it's only 120v not 240v, so all he would need is 20amps max, and plus he didn't state oven, range, or wall oven. just oven but is it gas or electric, thats what you got to look at.
sprtskhne33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 06:01 AM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,352
Default

Direct Wiring a stove


Junkie -- you say there are only 3 wires in the existing box feeding the old oven. Can you describe what the "ground" wire looks like? Is it a single solid conductor (bare or green insulated), or a stranded one that looks like a bunch of small wires twisted together? If it is the latter, you may have type SE cable.

Section 250.140 of the Code allows for type SE cable for ranges, dryers, and ovens where the bare conductor serves as the neutral and grounding conductors collectively in existing older homes. Such a circuit has to originate from the service equipment (not a sub-panel). In that case, both the white and green leads would connect to the bare braided "ground" wire.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 06:07 AM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,699
Default

Direct Wiring a stove


Quote:
Originally Posted by sprtskhne33 View Post
If it's an oven, then it's only 120v not 240v, so all he would need is 20amps max, and plus he didn't state oven, range, or wall oven. just oven but is it gas or electric, thats what you got to look at.
He said in the first post that the new oven has a red, black, white and green wire. So very obviously it is a 120/240 volt oven. Electric not gas. I have never seen an electric wall oven that was only 20 amps. He needs to read the ratings plate on the unit or the installation instructions to determine the wire and breaker size required. A new 4 wire cable (3 conductors plus ground) should be installed even though there are some NEC exemptions that allow reuse of 3 wire under certain conditions.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Stove Top and Built in Oven whoog Electrical 2 08-17-2010 01:10 PM
Wiring Stove from Switch Box sleepysmurf Electrical 3 08-12-2010 04:54 PM
Stove wiring - 3 wires in wall no red skd Electrical 8 05-08-2009 06:44 PM
Wiring stove outlet in old house electric-pete Electrical 23 07-06-2008 03:02 PM
Stove wiring? OSt8Pokes Electrical 2 03-01-2005 05:53 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.