Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-28-2009, 10:46 AM   #1
pjs
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Direct wire a vanity miror


We purchase a Conair wall mounted mirror which has a two-prong plug. My previous mirror was direct wired.
Is it safe to cut the plug off the new mirror and direct wire it in the electrical box that already exists?

pjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 11:11 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Direct wire a vanity miror


I am not an electrician but I don't believe what you are proposing is recommended. Why not put a receptacle in the electrical box that already exists and plug the mirror to it?

Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 11:16 AM   #3
pjs
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Direct wire a vanity miror


Thanks for the feedback. This is actually a make-up mirror which pulls very little power. I have an outlet directly but then the cord would be exposed. If I cut off the plug and direct wire it, them I am concerned the wire might get oo hot and cause a fire. Might be an over reaction on my part.
pjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 11:24 AM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Direct wire a vanity miror


Don't direct wire it, no, no. Maybe you can install a clock receptacle behind it to plug it in? GFCI protected of course.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2009, 11:56 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,508
Rewards Points: 2,004
Default

Direct wire a vanity miror


Quote:
Originally Posted by InPhase277 View Post
Don't direct wire it, no, no. Maybe you can install a clock receptacle behind it to plug it in? GFCI protected of course.
Agreed. This is what I would do. Even if the receptacle did not exist. I would install the clock type (recessed) receptacle. Then you will not see the cord.
Use the a receptacle that matches the plug on the mirror. Never modify a UL listed device.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When wire needs to be outdoor / direct burial rated jamiedolan Electrical 23 02-25-2009 11:46 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
Installing Fluorescents in Garage rzrbkpk Electrical 26 04-08-2008 09:00 PM
direct wire a range j1mw3b Electrical 7 02-16-2008 02:40 PM
Converting plug-in undercabinet light to direct wire ccole10 Electrical 4 07-21-2005 10:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.