DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

direct bury wire from house to garage??? help

45K views 30 replies 7 participants last post by  Scuba_Dave 
#1 ·
i have a double wide and a 30x40 garage my electricity to my house is under ground. on my box i have room to tie in to it. i will have to run wire to the garage 160 feet i am going to use direct bury wire but what kind? where do i buy it? lowes? all the wiring in the garage is done all i need to do is get the wire in the ground and hooked up at the house and garage. i will be useing a welder that needs 240v the most i will use at 1 time will be welder,lights and radio i plan on doing this in the next week or 2 so all the help would be nice thanks.also i have never done this so before i go trying to hook it up at the house do i just turn the main braker off that is out side? also will there be enough power to run the house and garage all at the same time because right now i have extension cords run out there right now and when i use a grinder it dims the lights in the house i am assuming it is because of the extension cords. thanks for your time and help.

#2 ·
When I hear the term "double-wide" I think "mobile home".

If this is the case, then there should be an outside disconnect box with additional spaces for circuits to supply outbuildings, etc. This is where your feeder circuit for the garage should originate.

As for wire size, operating most welders would mean you need at least a 60 Amp feeder. I'd be willing to bet that many here would recommend a 100 Amp panel and feeder for the garage.

In any case, you can purchase a 4-wire underground feeder cable assembly called "URD" which would provide you with a 90 Amp capacity, if you bought the #2-2-4-6 Aluminum size. As for cost comparison, the #2 URD is probably less expensive than a #6/3-g type UF copper cable.

And, yes, it should be available at your local orange or blue home-horror store. :whistling2:

#4 ·