Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-19-2010, 12:23 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

direct bury wire from house to garage??? help

i have a double wide and a 30x40 garage my electricity to my house is under ground. on my box i have room to tie in to it. i will have to run wire to the garage 160 feet i am going to use direct bury wire but what kind? where do i buy it? lowes? all the wiring in the garage is done all i need to do is get the wire in the ground and hooked up at the house and garage. i will be useing a welder that needs 240v the most i will use at 1 time will be welder,lights and radio i plan on doing this in the next week or 2 so all the help would be nice thanks.also i have never done this so before i go trying to hook it up at the house do i just turn the main braker off that is out side? also will there be enough power to run the house and garage all at the same time because right now i have extension cords run out there right now and when i use a grinder it dims the lights in the house i am assuming it is because of the extension cords. thanks for your time and help.

vinylman70 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to vinylman70 For This Useful Post:
Jim Ignaitis (03-02-2013)
Old 01-19-2010, 03:45 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor

When I hear the term "double-wide" I think "mobile home".

If this is the case, then there should be an outside disconnect box with additional spaces for circuits to supply outbuildings, etc. This is where your feeder circuit for the garage should originate.

As for wire size, operating most welders would mean you need at least a 60 Amp feeder. I'd be willing to bet that many here would recommend a 100 Amp panel and feeder for the garage.