Direct Burial Wire For 100 Amp Service - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical


CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2010, 11:47 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Direct burial wire for 100 amp service


What size direct burial wire do I need to run for a 100 amp service @ 100 feet?

Advertisement

caugen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2010, 01:41 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 480
Rewards Points: 330
Default


#2 type USE.you need tw0 hot's,neutral,ground.90 amp breaker at main panel.use a main breaker subpanel(load center)

Advertisement

oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 06:52 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 2
Default

Re: Direct burial wire for 100 amp service


hello what size wire needed to go from 200amp panel in house to about 250' away to barn into a 10amp main breaker panel in the barn I want to use direct burial wire too

thank you jimmy....
jrennick915 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 01-02-2017, 07:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 480
Rewards Points: 330
Default

Re: Direct burial wire for 100 amp service


do a load calc then use a voltage drop calculator to get voltage drop at around 6%.the calculator will tell you the wire size.there are wire size calulatorson line.
oleguy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2017, 07:53 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 526
Rewards Points: 760
Default

Re: Direct burial wire for 100 amp service


use AL wire, 3-4 times less expensive than copper
carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
replacing 3 wire to 4 wire compressor fan - please advise! frazwr01 HVAC 2 06-27-2010 10:44 AM
direct bury wire from house to garage??? help vinylman70 Electrical 30 01-20-2010 09:44 PM
Direct burial vs. conduit? vsheetz Electrical 15 01-05-2009 06:39 PM
Wiring my garage with direct burial cable? Earl Smith Electrical 3 08-10-2008 06:28 PM
Electrical Sub Panel #4 burial wire w/60 breaker FrankA Electrical 4 12-31-2007 07:19 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

 

Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1