Direct Breaker Tap To Bus? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-29-2008, 09:58 AM   #1
Leak Sealer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Direct Breaker Tap to Bus?


I have a machine that is used at existing residential jobsites. It requires 2 20 amp circuits. Its usually possible to access a kitchen (20 amp circuit) but finding another seperate one can be a problem. Does anyone manufacture a tap that can be used at the panel? I could probably make one using 2 20 amp breakers but then I would have to have a set for every proprietory panel manufacturer. The other issue would be the necessity of making sure the panel is not just sitting there in an occupied home with no cover on it.

I should probably break down and buy a generator but that's just one more thing to have to drag along to the job.

Just kicking the idea around in my head to see what pans out.

Advertisement

IREnergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 04:41 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Direct Breaker Tap to Bus?


Quote:
Originally Posted by IREnergy View Post
I have a machine that is used at existing residential jobsites. It requires 2 20 amp circuits. Its usually possible to access a kitchen (20 amp circuit) but finding another seperate one can be a problem. Does anyone manufacture a tap that can be used at the panel? I could probably make one using 2 20 amp breakers but then I would have to have a set for every proprietory panel manufacturer. The other issue would be the necessity of making sure the panel is not just sitting there in an occupied home with no cover on it.

I should probably break down and buy a generator but that's just one more thing to have to drag along to the job.

Just kicking the idea around in my head to see what pans out.
Maybe you could get a 4-wire dryer cord and wire it to a small panel like the one below. They are like $13.00 at Home Ripoff. Put two 20 A single pole breakers in it to protect the circuits. Put you a couple GFCIs in a box attached to it with a short nipple. When you go to the job site, plug it into the dryer outlet. Then plug your machine into the GFCIs.
Attached Images
 

Advertisement


Last edited by InPhase277; 02-29-2008 at 04:54 PM.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 04:53 PM   #3
Leak Sealer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Direct Breaker Tap to Bus?


Thanks very much! This goes to show that there is beauty in simplicity!
By the way, do you know if anyone makes a 4 prong to 3 prong adapter for the dryer recepticle. With that, I'll be good to go.
IREnergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 04:59 PM   #4
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Direct Breaker Tap to Bus?


Quote:
Originally Posted by IREnergy View Post
Thanks very much! This goes to show that there is beauty in simplicity!
By the way, do you know if anyone makes a 4 prong to 3 prong adapter for the dryer recepticle. With that, I'll be good to go.
An adapter would have to be made yourself, but no good electrician would recommend it. A 3 wire dryer outlet relies on the neutral for the ground. A bad idea.

InPhase277
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 07:37 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 8,382
Rewards Points: 3,558
Blog Entries: 4
Default

Direct Breaker Tap to Bus?


You could make it with a removable cord. Then have different cord to attach to it. One for dryer receptacle. One for stove receptacle.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2008, 08:26 PM   #6
Leak Sealer
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Direct Breaker Tap to Bus?


Thanks Guys, I'm on the right track here. InPhase277, I agree and am 100% against not having a solid ground. Glad you mentioned it. joed, you have given me a good but last choice for a recepticle. Ranges have a nasty way of shredding vinyl! But you've got me in the correct room for a 20 amp source. I could use that and the washer recep. hoping that there isn't a freezer or something like that on the same circuit. I am going to build a box per InPhase277's suggestion to use on 4 prong recepticles.

Advertisement

IREnergy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Circuit breaker panel - Advice needed justtired Electrical 15 12-13-2007 06:55 AM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 04:09 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM
Breaker Buzz SkipI Electrical 2 07-13-2007 08:48 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts