Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-06-2011, 09:56 AM   #1

Share |

dimming light on new circuit

We recently upgraded to a 200 amp breaker box and got a new overhead service wire from the street. We are slowly replacing all the knob & tube and redesigning the circuits room by room as we renovate our house. One of the bedrooms has been completely rewired and is on its own 15amp arc fault breaker. (The work was done with permits and inspections.) Here is my question: the coffee maker is definitely on a different circuit (knob and tube), yet when its heater element cycles on and off, the bedroom (romex) lights dim a little bit. Is that to be expected? It seems to me like there should be sufficient current to run both easily, but then again I am just learning about electricity. Thanks for any insights.

Windows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 11:20 AM   #2

You will need electricians' experience.

Measure the voltage at various places inside your main panel as the coffee maker switches on and off.

Including both the big lugs where the service wires come in and the service wires themselves.

We cannot rule out minor deficiencies in the power company pole transformer that cause noticeable voltage changes with not so large changes in current draw.

But we do want to check for possible loose connections between sub components in the panel.

Ideally you want to measure voltage at terminals just before and after the meter except you may not open up that box.

Windows (01-07-2011)
Old 01-06-2011, 03:51 PM   #3

How much does the load change the supplied voltage ?
A small change is ok !
But if it is significant, then a current limit is in action.
You can start by working backwards from the light.
Measure at all connections,
If you find a spot where the reduction is a lot less,
or non existant, then you have an indication were the problem lies.