Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-29-2014, 05:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 17
Share |
Default

Dimmer switch question?


I bought some dimmer switches and I am connecting two switches on one circuit controlling two seperate lights. The dimmer I have have two red wires one says only to b used if using for 3 way. There are no white
Wires. Do I have to pigtail all my black connections together? The diagram I am using shows a regular switch
With the black wire on either side of the switch.
Thanks

jamestown55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 05:43 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,374
Default

Dimmer switch question?


It's not clear to me what you are doing.

Are you replacing two existing switches in the same box with one dimmer?

What color and how many wires are in the box?

What color and how many wires are on the dimmer?

__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 05:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 17
Default

Dimmer switch question?


I am installing them right from the panel I am finishing my basement.
So two switches off one power wire from the panel. Each switch controlling
There own ligjt. There are two red wires, one black
And one green wire on my new dimmer.
jamestown55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 05:55 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,730
Default

Dimmer switch question?


What brand and model #.

Connect the power from the panel to the black wire and the wire to the light to one red wire, cap off the other red wire.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
djlandkpl (01-29-2014), jamestown55 (01-29-2014)
Old 01-29-2014, 05:58 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 17
Default

Dimmer switch question?


Leviton decora no 6633
jamestown55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 06:43 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,440
Default

Dimmer switch question?


Cap the wire with the label. connect the black from each switch to the power black(all three in one wire nut). The remaining red wire of each dimmer goes to feed the lights.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joed For This Useful Post:
jamestown55 (01-29-2014)
Old 01-29-2014, 06:53 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 17
Default

Dimmer switch question?


Great, thanks again.
jamestown55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 08:06 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 17
Default

Dimmer switch question?


Did I wire this correctly? I have attached the three black wires together, green ground wires, two white wires from the power source to the red wire on the dimmer switch and then the other red wire to the remaining white wire going to my light.
Attached Thumbnails
Dimmer switch question?-img_20140129_205002.jpg  
jamestown55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2014, 08:25 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Southeastern MA
Posts: 1,374
Default

Dimmer switch question?


It's not correct. The whites get tied together and no wires from the dimmers.

The black from the power source gets pigtailed with the black from each timer.

The red on the timer goes to the black for the light you want it to control.
__________________
Dan
djlandkpl is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to djlandkpl For This Useful Post:
jamestown55 (01-29-2014)
Old 01-29-2014, 09:53 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Dimmer switch question?


Dimmers may need a 40W minimum load.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dimmer switch question thearchitect Electrical 10 03-05-2013 09:57 PM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-08-2011 11:00 PM
Dimmer Switch Question Livewire78 Electrical 6 01-03-2010 09:51 PM
Bathroom electronic dimmer gets reset by exhaust fan switch? BinaryJay Electrical 3 07-16-2008 10:57 PM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 11:05 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.