Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 07:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

Dimmer switch question


Hello all!

I've installed a 42 bulb/25 watt chandelier and I'd like to install a dimmer switch. I would need a switch that can handle 1050 Watts correct? Does such a switch exist? The highest I've seen is rated at 1000 Watts. Also I should mention that the wiring is knob and tube and I know that heat is a concern. Anything I should be worried about.

Thanks in advance for the advice!

thearchitect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:12 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,692
Default

Dimmer switch question


You would need a 1500 watt dimmer, but you will not like the looks of them.
They have fins that sit outside the box.

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,820
Default

Dimmer switch question


I would wonder why the old knob and tube has not been replaced with new romex.
A rewiring job is about 50 years over due.
But that's my own opinion.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:18 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Dimmer switch question


I don't know what the current chandelier replaced, but the new one draws almost 9A. This is most likely a 15A circuit and may cause the circuit to trip.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 08:11 PM   #5
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,718
Default

Dimmer switch question


install 15 watt lamps, save yourself the headache...
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:36 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

Dimmer switch question


Even better use 7w CFL's,
they make them in all the fancy and miniture sizes now !
Name:  cfl.jpg
Views: 112
Size:  12.1 KB
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 05:42 PM   #7
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,718
Default

Dimmer switch question


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Even better use 7w CFL's,
they make them in all the fancy and miniture sizes now !
Attachment 66759
Yeah, but are they dimmable? A lot of those dont play nice....
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:19 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Dimmer switch question


Thank you all for your replies!

Upon further inspection it actually looks like MC cable?...not knob and tube. The wires are in insulated in a rubber/plastic type sheathing, then in a woven fabric, then in a thicker fabric/rubber type insulation. Pic below...



Back to the dimmer in question...

Has anyone had any experience with a Lutron C-1500?

http://www.lutron.com/en-US/Products.../Overview.aspx

Again...thank you all for your helpful replies!
thearchitect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:46 PM   #9
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,336
Default

Dimmer switch question


That is knob and tube.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:43 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Default

Dimmer switch question


Ahhhh yes. Well I believe I have sufficiently shown my inexperience with these matters and have thrown in the towel to call on a professional for help.

If I may, one last question before I hang up my tool belt...

Is knob and tube generally even able to handle a fixture putting out 1050 watts or is this not a good omen? I'd like to have some idea so I can either ship, yet another, fixture back to China or leave this puppy up.

Thanks again all!
thearchitect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:57 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,372
Default

Dimmer switch question


Have a look at the size of the fuse for that circuit,
this will give you an idea what it can handle.
All this depends on it still being in good condition.

And be aware that there are many rules reguarding K & T,
you cannot add to, modify or extend K & T.
If it is still working and safe you can continue to use it.
Many electricains choose to not touch any K & T.
Instead they will choose to run a new circuit.
Due to liability issue's.

dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dimmer, electrical, knob and tube, switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 12 06-10-2014 12:52 AM
Replace bathroom light switch with dimmer switch ToddD Electrical 11 05-06-2012 05:58 PM
Dimmer Switch Question Livewire78 Electrical 6 01-03-2010 09:51 PM
old wire, backfed switch question Jack A. Trades Electrical 6 07-03-2008 11:05 AM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 03:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.