Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2007, 09:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Dimmer Switch Problems?


This will be a long winded message so I hope you can follow. I installed 2 new halogen can lights above my mantle this past weekend. I was able to get into the attic and wire them into an existing can light. In this room there is also a ceiling fan that has a switch for the light and a switch for the fan motor. Just so we are clear there is a electrical box on the wall with what seems to be three seperate switches, one for the ceiling fan light, one for the ceiling fan motor, and one for the existing single can light that I added 2 new can lights on. The problem I am having is that when I installed the dimmer switch on the single can light(now 3 can lights) place in the electrical box, I lost power to the other two switches that run the ceiling fan. I hope this makes some sense. I can try to attach a picture of the wall electrical box, if it would help. I have done installations like this before, so I feel like I know somewhat of what I am doing. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Danny

dmtm21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2007, 09:19 PM   #2
Agent 000
 
SecretSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 334
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Dimmer Switch Problems?


Welcome to the forum Danny!

From your description it sounds as if you mistakenly disconnected the hot from the other two switches. There should be a hot wire that daisy chains between the two switches and the dimmer. The other side of each switch and dimmer should feed each respective downstream device. If that's not the case then could you have somehow interupted the neutral connecton? All the neutrals from each run to the downstream devices should be joined together with the source neutral wire that feeds the box along with the hot.

SecretSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2007, 01:18 AM   #3
Cabinet Installer
 
Dansbell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Medford OR
Posts: 57
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Dimmer Switch Problems?


It is extremely likely that you simply loosened a connection in the box inadvertently. Check all your wire nuts to ensure they are making good connection with the wires that should be in them.
__________________
Daniel S. Bell
Belbuilt, LLC
Cabinet Installation Medford, Oregon
http://www.belbuilt.com
Dansbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
Dimmer switch Remodeling Electrical 3 06-23-2006 03:08 PM
When Bulb blows, Dimmer Switch Blows mAv19 Electrical 2 05-26-2006 03:52 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM
Replacing Dimmer Switch dallas520 Electrical 3 05-15-2005 11:49 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.