Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-13-2013, 07:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dimmer on Fluorescents


I recently purchased a Lutron remote dimmer setup that has 5 dimmers controllable from 1 master box. I plan to use 4 of them on dimmable incandescents and that should be just fine. However, I also plan to use 1 on a switch that runs about 6 fluorescent ballasts with 12-36 inch tubes. I am unsure if the ballasts are dimmable, but even if they aren't, can I still run a dimmer on them if I keep it at full power? Furthermore, would it be possible to dim them at all?

mginster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 08:14 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,867
Rewards Points: 2,038
Default

Dimmer on Fluorescents


NO and NO.

Unless you specifically got dimming ballasts they are not dimmable. Dimmable ballasts are very rare, and require a special dimmer.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
micromind (01-13-2013)
Old 01-13-2013, 08:21 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Dimmer on Fluorescents


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
NO and NO.

Unless you specifically got dimming ballasts they are not dimmable. Dimmable ballasts are very rare, and require a special dimmer.
Exactly, dimmable ballasts have to be specifically matched to their compatible dimmer. You can not just pair up any old dimmable ballast with any dimmer.

DO NOT wire the ballasts you have to a dimmer even if you plan to keep it at full power, unless of course you have some kind of weird ballast changing fetish, then by all means go for it. You'll burn 'em all up and you'll be able to get lots of practice replacing ballasts.
EBFD6 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to EBFD6 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (01-13-2013)
Old 01-13-2013, 10:46 PM   #4
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,521
Rewards Points: 2,384
Default

Dimmer on Fluorescents


A bit more info (and I'm keeping this simple)....there are two basic types of dimmers....resistive and switching. The resitive type just reduce the voltage...the switching type actually shut off (chop) the AC wave form going to the load. Not a problem for incandescent loads....but for fluorescent loads...no worky.

I believe Lutron has a new dimmer that works for all loads...but don't hold me to it....

Regardless, unless the FL tube and ballast are designed to be dimmed.....they won't work. The light will dim slightly as you go down...then flicker...then just go out.
__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 01:01 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,002
Rewards Points: 506
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

Dimmer on Fluorescents


If you want to control the fluorescent lights with this dimmer, I'd suggest using a relay to control the power to the lights from the lutron dimmer. You can take the output from the dimmer to the relay coil input, then a constant power source to be switched for the lights. This would ensure a clean on/off for the fluorescent lights.

If you need help figuring out how to wire up this relay, just ask. Many of us around here have wired these up and can help you out.

http://www.functionaldevices.com/bui...p?model=RIBU1C
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 10:54 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Dimmer on Fluorescents


Thank you for the responses. I have posted another topic regarding the wiring of a relay.

mginster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble Installing Dimmer Switch Pfern Electrical 2 06-01-2012 09:24 PM
wiring a digital dimmer switch albertlayden Electrical 8 01-27-2012 06:33 PM
4 way dimmer jamiedolan Electrical 7 08-24-2010 12:45 AM
HALP! Master/Remote Dimmer troubles! Confuserated Electrical 9 02-12-2010 03:30 PM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.