Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2008, 03:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

diminishing voltage


I have 5 outlets on a circuit, the first one on the circuit is a GFCI in the garage. This one and the next read at about 124 volts. when i get to the third on the circuit it drops to about 108 volts and when i try to plug in an appliance it doesn't work. I put in a new receptacle to see if maybe that was the problem but there was no change. what should I do now.

samiller1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 04:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

diminishing voltage


Check all the connections at each oulet. There should not be that much drop. Are the four outlets connected to the load screws of the GFCI?

jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 04:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

diminishing voltage


i am not sure what you mean about being connected to the load screws
samiller1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 06:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

diminishing voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by samiller1980 View Post
i am not sure what you mean about being connected to the load screws
There are two ways to connect a gfci receptacle. #1 provide single point protection. The incoming and outgoing wires are both connected to "line" screw terminals. #2 provides protection at the gfci and all outlets "downstream" of it. The incoming wires are connected to the "line" screws and the outgoing wires are connected to the "load" terminals. Does the voltage drop right at the second outlet?
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 06:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,202
Rewards Points: 500
Default

diminishing voltage


Quote:
Originally Posted by samiller1980 View Post
i am not sure what you mean about being connected to the load screws
A GFCI receptacle has two sets of terminals plus the green screw for the ground.
Two of the terminals are labeled "Line" and the other two are labeled "Load".
usually, a new receptacle has a label over the Load terminals warning not to connect power to these terminals.

Power must come in to the LINE terminals, and downstream receptacles must be wired to the LOAD terminals if they are to be protected by the GFCI. But as Jerryh3 said, downstream receptacles may be wired to the GFCI's LINE terminals if only single point protection is required. In this case, the downstream receptacles are not GFCI protected. Only the GFCI receptacle itself is.

The most likely cause of your problem is a bad connection, which would present as a high resistance. If your measuring device draws some current, then it will cause a drop across that resistance, thus the lower voltage. When you plug something in, it will present a much lower resistance, thus all of the voltage is lost across the bad connection (high resistance).
__________________


Last edited by KE2KB; 12-02-2008 at 06:43 PM.
KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2008, 07:23 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

diminishing voltage


ok thank you i understand now and have learned something about gfci receptacles. i will check all of my receptacles on that line tomorrow for a bad connection

samiller1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low voltage box question WShawn Electrical 7 08-19-2008 06:22 AM
2 - 900w tansformers on a 15A circuit? tonyBagadonuts Electrical 19 07-20-2008 07:15 PM
Low voltage wire entering/exiting walls need box? Azeiku Electrical 2 07-07-2008 04:55 PM
Voltage Drop Issues sushiboy Electrical 12 04-03-2008 09:01 PM
Low voltage to vacuum l.schrankel@comcast.net Electrical 2 03-04-2007 09:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.