Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-22-2008, 10:14 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 211
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Diming lights


I have my washing machine and my dishwasher on their own circuits, but when these appliances come on, change cycles, etc. the overhead lights in other rooms dim a little. It is not a major problem, but I wonder if it is a symptom of something wrong.

Cossack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 10:38 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Diming lights


If your neighbors have the same symptom it's PoCo's problem.

It sounds like a bad connection upstream of all the circuit breakers in your house. There are not very many connections in your panel that fit this description.

The bad connection should be hot to the touch but to test this you'd need thin gloves that can withstand >120v RMS.

If you have a voltmeter, there should be <3 millivolts AC across good, bolted, current-carrying connections.

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 11:32 PM   #3
x/builder
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Central Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Diming lights


Is your panel a 60 amp? if it is that's your problem.

$1000 or less to have a 100 Amp breaker panel installed.

must be done by a licensed electrician since the power has to be shut off from the street.

Do it right, do it once.

fj
FrankTheTorontoRealtor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 11:55 PM   #4
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,878
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Diming lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankTheTorontoRealtor View Post
Is your panel a 60 amp? if it is that's your problem.
How do you figure?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 11:58 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,878
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Diming lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
The bad connection should be hot to the touch but to test this you'd need thin gloves that can withstand >120v RMS.
A DIYer should NOT be touching (or working with) ANYTHING live, even with "120v RMS" gloves. (What are ">120v RMS" gloves?)

Advising this is HIGHLY negligent!
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 12:00 AM   #6
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,878
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Diming lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cossack View Post
I have my washing machine and my dishwasher on their own circuits, but when these appliances come on, change cycles, etc. the overhead lights in other rooms dim a little. It is not a major problem, but I wonder if it is a symptom of something wrong.
Most times this is NOT a major problem and is quite typical.

Most homes, even brand new ones with 400A services, still have this issue from time to time.
The key is dimming just a little. A big dip or any actual flickering, and worse yet bright and dimming, are all bad things.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 08:56 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Diming lights


What are ">120v RMS" gloves?
Gloves with a dielectric breakdown strength >120v RMS.

Advising this is HIGHLY negligent!
Forgot my disclaimer; sorry.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 08:59 AM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,878
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

Diming lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Forgot my disclaimer; sorry.
What, that would make it OK?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 09:09 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Diming lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
What, that would make it OK?
Apparently the designers of Internet Forums, or their attorneys, believe so.

Grainger lists Class 00 gloves, tested at 2500v and to be used at a maximum of 500v according to ASTM specs, $40/pr.

I'd think more than a 5% voltage drop measured at the lights when switching on these appliances would indicate a problem.
Page 7 of this spec goes into a little more detail
http://www.idealindustries.com/media...uctions_v4.pdf

Last edited by Yoyizit; 07-23-2008 at 09:13 AM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 11:16 AM   #10
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Diming lights


Yoyizit

Most of what you post is what they call "FREE" advice in my part of the country. This is like getting advice on how to flush your toilet from one of the gasoline companies....."ohhhh just flush it five or six times the more the merrier"...... or how to invest your money from a bank robber.

I'm just having some fun with you....you certainly are an odd one.....but enough already......


That last post was hilarious by the way......
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 11:48 AM   #11
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,131
Rewards Points: 2,232
Default

Diming lights


Cossack

I think you are probably just having a typical voltage drop during a motor start up...very common as Speedy has already mentioned. The lights should not stay dim though for these particular appliances. After the motor is running you should see your lights return to normal. Probably the most common occurrence like this is when a central a/c starts its compressor.
Heavy load motors like vacuum cleaners may dim the lights until turned off. Lots of reasons for this but none are worthy of a lot of cost and expense to rectify.
You might check your panel and see if the DW and washer are on the same leg with the lights that are dimming. If so you might reconfigure the two to another leg. Only problem with this is if there are lights on the other leg you will just move the problem to those lights.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 12:58 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Diming lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
you certainly are an odd one
Droll, I've heard. . .
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 06:01 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 211
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Diming lights


The lights just dim a little for 1/2 a second or so. I just did not understand it since the washing machine and dishwasher are on their own circuits.

Now how do I tell if my panel is 60 or 100 amp?
Cossack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 07:24 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Diming lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cossack View Post

Now how do I tell if my panel is 60 or 100 amp?
Look at the main breaker (the big breaker) and on the breaker it should have its amperage labeled.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 11:51 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Diming lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by luthersmith View Post
The solution to this is change the system of lighting as soon as possible.
thanks
This thread is going no where. The Op's question reguires an answer, but no action is required. This is a perfectly normal occurrence as the others have said.
The only exception is what Stubbie stated regarding brightening and continuous power loss.

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
undercabinet puck lights ccalmonte Electrical 7 08-05-2008 09:25 PM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 08:23 PM
Added can lights, tripping GFI tandyt Electrical 3 05-18-2008 10:55 AM
Pot lights in a drop ceiling Howdy Electrical 3 03-14-2008 09:23 PM
Formula for changing lights to recessed bulbs? Jemo Electrical 12 01-26-2007 06:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.