Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-05-2013, 12:42 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Share |
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


It is confusing because they only seem to mention one traveller.

tfo411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 12:45 PM   #17
BCS
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tfo411 View Post
It is confusing because they only seem to mention one traveller.
So...should I just return it and get a different timer? Or, do you know how to wire it? Very strange.
BCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 01:14 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


Ok think i got it. It was throwing me off because it doesn't look like it functions like a normal 3 way. In reality it doesnt look like a 3 way switch on the line side is needed at all but,

Go to the line side switch. Connect the incoming power (constant power black), to the black of your 3 conductor cable AND the common screw of your switch.
Connect the white from the incoming power cable, to the white of your 3 conductor cable.
And finally connect the red in your 3 conductor cable to one of the traveler terminals on the switch.

Now go to the load side timer.
connect the black in the 3 conductor to the black on the timer.
connect the white in the 3 conductor to the white on the timer.
connect the red from the 3 conductor to the red on the timer.
I believe that should do it.

Last edited by tfo411; 11-05-2013 at 01:19 PM.
tfo411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 01:38 PM   #19
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,501
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


You are guessing. That's not good with electrical.

Way back, Eastcoastsparky said it looked like a dead end 3way.

That existing wiring needs to be confirmed (or corrected) before giving any wiring instructions.

This is what a dead end 3 way looks like (grounds omitted)
Attached Thumbnails
Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.-de3way.jpg  
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 01:50 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


You are right, the other switch does need to be confirmed. If it is a dead end then my wiring suggestions wont even be doable.
Things will change slightly if its dead end. Not drastically though.
tfo411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:05 PM   #21
BCS
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


And if its a dead end which it just might be what would be the wiring instructions?
BCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:21 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


If it is dead end, which after looking more closely at pictures looks like it very well could be. (you need to confirm this)

Then black wire from timer with the bundles blacks.
White wire from timer with the bundled whites
Red wire from timer to red wire on 3 conductor
blue wire on timer to black wire in 4th cable
white wire in 3 conductor cable will be abandoned. disconnect at both ends and cover with wire nut.
And obviously, green to ground.
tfo411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:27 PM   #23
BCS
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tfo411 View Post
If it is dead end, which after looking more closely at pictures looks like it very well could be. (you need to confirm this)

Then black wire from timer with the bundles blacks.
White wire from timer with the bundled whites
Red wire from timer to red wire on 3 conductor
blue wire on timer to black wire in 4th cable
white wire in 3 conductor cable will be abandoned. disconnect at both ends and cover with wire nut.
And obviously, green to ground.
The only wires in the 2nd 3way switch are black, red, white and ground which are all connected to the current switch. Does that indicate dead end?
BCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:28 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


Quote:
Originally Posted by BCS View Post
The only wires in the 2nd 3way switch are black, red, white and ground which are all connected to the current switch. Does that indicate dead end?
Yes. Dead end.
tfo411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:33 PM   #25
BCS
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tfo411 View Post
Yes. Dead end.
OK great, I'll give it a shot later today and report back.

Thanks.

So for the 2nd switch the jumper wire will be connected to the black wire which will go to the common nut and everything else stays the same (Line switch).
BCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:35 PM   #26
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,501
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


Trial and error wiring can fry that timer.
Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:39 PM   #27
BCS
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Trial and error wiring can fry that timer.
Thus the reason why I am asking here for those that are knowledgeable before doing just what I dont want to happen.
BCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:40 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 91
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Oso954 View Post
Trial and error wiring can fry that timer.
Not sure why you think its trial and error. My wiring suggestion is based of the manufacturers diagram. (if you can call it that..more of a sketch)

If you disagree then by all means post a suggestion. I've been wrong before and could be wrong again. Take a look, post a suggestion.

http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdf...29c61b474f.pdf
tfo411 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 02:45 PM   #29
BCS
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 24
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tfo411 View Post
If it is dead end, which after looking more closely at pictures looks like it very well could be. (you need to confirm this)

Then black wire from timer with the bundles blacks.
White wire from timer with the bundled whites
Red wire from timer to red wire on 3 conductor
blue wire on timer to black wire in 4th cable
white wire in 3 conductor cable will be abandoned. disconnect at both ends and cover with wire nut.
And obviously, green to ground.
Ok... disregard my question above regarding the line switch connection. White will be disregarded in both switches per your instructions above.
BCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 03:03 PM   #30
Member
 
Oso954's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Calif.
Posts: 1,501
Default

Digitial Timer in 3 Gang box with (2) 3way switches and 1 single pole..confused.


It was a warning in response to
"OK great, I'll give it a shot later today and report back."
You often only get one shot with an electronic device like this timer.

Oso954 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring to Replace Timer Switch with Single Pole Switch BusterT Electrical 2 10-26-2012 03:39 PM
Replacing single pole light switches with double pole bruce54 Electrical 43 04-15-2012 10:23 AM
Separate Single Pole Switches for Ceiling Fan Light and Fan Only estatehomes Electrical 19 01-13-2012 06:13 PM
single pole timer switch with 4 lines incoming billyjeenyus Electrical 1 09-18-2011 01:20 PM
single gang single pole switch on fan fabian Electrical 14 03-05-2009 01:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.