Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-16-2011, 06:36 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Share |
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


I bought this digital dimmer
http://www.habindustries.com/85/Digi...er_Switch.html


It has 4 wires Black, White, Blue and Green the thing is all I have for wires where I want to install the dimmer (from a previous light switch) is Black (to switch), Red (going from the switch only to fixture) and White tied together with a marette. Where am I supposed to hookup the Blue wire and WTH I have no ground?????
Audiotekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 07:24 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,915
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


Really need a picture of the box that you are trying to install this device in, and the device. Any wiring instructions that came with this Chinese made item? And what are you trying to control with said device.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 07:45 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


It's for a light fixture in a bedroom

Here's the dimmer

http://image.made-in-china.com/2f0j0...-TSD-1000-.jpg

At the back I have the usual wires except for the Blue one which says load on it


I'll post pix of my wiring in a few
Audiotekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 07:53 PM   #4
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,915
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


Load is the light or outlet. Wires coming in from the power attach to Black and White, wiring from the light connects from Blue & White with the other white. Now for the Green, that is ground, and if you do not have one in the wiring, you will need it for the dimmer to properly operate. That is one thing they added to the 2011 NEC, is that you have to run 12/3 or 14/3 for all lighting circuits.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 08:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


The yellow wire on the pix is white
http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g1...9/IMG00167.jpg
http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g166/frenchie29/IMG00170.jpg


http://i56.photobucket.com/albums/g166/frenchie29/IMG00168.jpg
Audiotekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 08:14 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


So is the ground essential for the dimmer to work or is it a safety issue? All I see is black and white and the red one comes from the ceiling. I assume from the light.



Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Load is the light or outlet. Wires coming in from the power attach to Black and White, wiring from the light connects from Blue & White with the other white. Now for the Green, that is ground, and if you do not have one in the wiring, you will need it for the dimmer to properly operate. That is one thing they added to the 2011 NEC, is that you have to run 12/3 or 14/3 for all lighting circuits.
Audiotekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 08:19 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,915
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


That is a old house. Looks like either Plaster & Lathe, or Rock-Lathe. The ground could be wrapped around the jacket of the Romex, just outside of the box, but it appears that someone some time ago ran all new Romex, because that bottom wire appears to not be held by a fitting to keep it in the box. If that is the case, you should have no problem pulling new wiring for that circuit, so that you have the ground.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 08:24 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


Was built in early '70s You mean pulling a whole new 12/3 from the box??? I wonder if all the other outlets are actually grounded
Audiotekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 08:29 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,915
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


12/2 for outlets, 14/3 for the lighting, unless you have a lot of lights on that circuit, then yes 12/3 is fine. If you own, I would check it out. Now be aware, that homes built in the 70's used Aluminum wiring, and the methods to connect copper wiring to aluminum requires special connectors, and what is called Nooxid http://www.sanchem.com/aSpecialE.html
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 08:32 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


Thanks for the replies Maybe I'll calla pro :D
Audiotekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 08:45 PM   #11
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,915
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


If you do not have the time, that is fine. With guys and girls in the trade for electrician looking for work, due to the building industry has gone stale, it would help them out, especially if you are uncomfortable working with electricity, or not knowing if you may have aluminum wiring in that house, due to the period that it was built.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 08:56 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


Better be safe then sorry. The thing that I'm wondering about and don't find safe is the fact that there's no ground in the wiring!!! So this is the same thing as a regular switch? The switch breaks the Hot? Neutral is untouched but what about the red?
Audiotekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:25 PM   #13
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,915
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


They 12/3 or 14/3 from above, but 12/2 or 14/2 from below. They also tied both blacks together from both romex to the pigtail on the switch, so that means they are using either the black or red up above to feed another light. Not the correct way. Can you get to the box above to follow the wire coming out of the wall to see if they did anything screwy up there, or may just drop the light on that circuit to see if they tapped off the black or red and went somewhere else. You should have two lights turning off if they did it how I think, or they may have just had some extra wire, and decided that two wires were better than one to feed the light, but it is still 120volts.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:33 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 73
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


As far as I know that switch only controls one light You mean checking the ends where the light itself is?

So in theory the red cable we see on the pict should be the load? blue on the new dimmer?
Audiotekm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 09:40 PM   #15
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 12,915
Default

Digital Touch Screen Dimmer Switch Wiring


The red and black going to the light would be load in your case, since it goes to the light. Normally you would use 3 wire romex for 3 way switches, or in my case, I ran 3 wire for the light in the middle of my kitchen, so I could feed the light over the sink, and from there, used 2 wire romex with ground, so I could have a switch leg, to turn the light off over the sink.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
wiring 4 way switch with 2 dimmer zones philly529 Electrical 5 02-22-2010 01:46 PM
Switch Junction box has 3 sets of 3 wires. Can't get dimmer to work knockout Electrical 11 08-16-2009 08:06 PM
4 way switch wiring ponch37300 Electrical 9 02-16-2009 09:58 AM
Dimmer Switch Vandiyan Electrical 21 12-15-2008 07:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.