Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2009, 03:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


I've recently purchased HD digital cable through verizon FOIS. I currently have coax cable jacks in 6 locations through out the house (4 bedrooms, family room & basement rec room). I also have a HD media DVR (supplied by verizon) which will allow me to record TV programs and watch them in other rooms in the house. I'm noticing a weak signal/ picture in 1 room that is the furthest location from the modem & DVR. Verizon tech and my own research has led me to believe the signal is weak due to too many 3-way and 2-way splitters. Verizon tech recommended to wire each room as a "home run" to minimize splitters and signal loss. They tried connecting an amplifier to boost signal, but it didn't help much. They recommended removing splitters and connecting as home runs. I've seen many 2-way and 3-way splitters on the market but don't know much about splitters that are 4 or more to allow me to connect all rooms as a "home run". Can anyone provide me with some guidance as to what good 6 way splitters are out there and if they will meet verizon fois requirements.

rcassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2009, 08:40 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


http://broadbandamps.com/splitters.htm (a lot for splitters though, I would find a better price first!)

Now I do not know a lot about verizon fios, if they use over 1000mhz than you should get a splitter rated for such operation.

Homerun with rg/6 is recommended. Quad shield can be used, but it does not make a big difference.

rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 11:54 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


Of course they want you to do a home run to each TV, so does the cable company. The cable company wants you to do a home run so that you pay for a box at every TV.

Is this a question of not getting any signal AT ALL to the other rooms or are you just trying to get HD to all the other rooms?

If you want HD for the Network channels, (ABC, CBS etc) but can live without it on the cable stations (ESPN, TNT, etc) in those secondary and tertiary rooms then check to see if your HDTV has a QAM feature.

I currently get HD on 2 extra TVs without a box (just split off basic cable) via the QAM receiver in the TVs. Works awesome for the basement TV at no additional cost. If you google QAM and HD you'll find info about it.
windowguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 12:08 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


Quote:
Originally Posted by windowguy View Post
Of course they want you to do a home run to each TV, so does the cable company. The cable company wants you to do a home run so that you pay for a box at every TV.

Is this a question of not getting any signal AT ALL to the other rooms or are you just trying to get HD to all the other rooms?

If you want HD for the Network channels, (ABC, CBS etc) but can live without it on the cable stations (ESPN, TNT, etc) in those secondary and tertiary rooms then check to see if your HDTV has a QAM feature.

I currently get HD on 2 extra TVs without a box (just split off basic cable) via the QAM receiver in the TVs. Works awesome for the basement TV at no additional cost. If you google QAM and HD you'll find info about it.
Huh? There should be one splitter and home runs to each TV. Don't know of many cable companies that charge "per tv" anymore. Usually you just have to pay if you want additional addressable boxes. Any yes, any TV with a QAM tuner should be able to display "unscrambled" HD cable channels.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 02:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 148
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


With Cablevision you only get HD signal if you use their cable box for each TV. (and you pay a fee for each box) You get ESPN in HD just plugging the coax directly to the back of your TV? If you do you are lucky.
windowguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 04:34 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


Verizon fios as well as cablevision charges you by the box. I get good reception to every room for TV, however when I want to watch a program that was previously recorded from the DVR in one room and watch it in another, the reception is poor since the signal goes from the modem & DVR player back thru splitters and to the individual rooms. The more splitters you use, especially in series the more signal you lose. My goal is to minimize splitters and signal loss. Will a combo amplifier/ 6-way splitter be a good solution at the main coming into the house?
rcassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 04:52 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


Quote:
Originally Posted by rcassidy View Post
the reception is poor since the signal goes from the modem & DVR player back thru splitters and to the individual rooms.
Splitters generally only work well 1 way, they don't work well when going "back thru".
In order to do what you want, you need another line from the dvr to the appropriate tvs. (alternately, I think they make wireless video "bridges" that you might use)

Verizon probably wants you to make the home runs to the DVR box

EDIT: HD Media DVR seems like a different animal altogether, the above may not apply...

Last edited by daxinarian; 04-16-2009 at 05:05 PM.
daxinarian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 07:05 PM   #8
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,337
Rewards Points: 2,336
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


Has nothing to do with the box. It has to do with the fact, that for each splitter on the line, it decreases the signal. BTW, you have to have a box with FiOS and CATV providers, since Analog is a thing of the past such as the Dinosaur.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 07:17 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


How about the voice data video (VDV) distribution systems? You can just purchase a video module and can upgrade later with network, phone, or video cams modules. You will still need to install a home run to each room but the way I understand this you can distribute cable, vcr, dvr from one source to multiple sources. Or do I misunderstand the concept? Thanks.
__________________
One Pound of Knowledge Requires Ten Pounds of Common Sense In Order To Be Useful
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 08:15 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


How about a splitter and amp that supports active return path?
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 08:23 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


Does anybody make return path splitters/ amplifiers?
rcassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 09:00 PM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


Yup, but they ain't cheap.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 09:20 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 58
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


who makes them and roughly how much?
rcassidy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 10:02 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


Here is an example, not cheap but this website is too pricey.

http://www.broadbandamps.com/Products/VSMA-608C-10R.htm
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 12:11 AM   #15
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Digital HD cable splitters


That one is a better deal than most I have encountered.

kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Satellite vs. cable coaxial types? Badfish740 Home Theater 6 02-17-2009 12:00 PM
Coaxial Cable Question bahaisamurai Home Theater 9 08-08-2007 03:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.