Digital Clock Advances - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2011, 01:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

digital clock advances


Hi all,
In one room of my house, the digital clock advances up to one hour a day; I assume it's due to [fluctuating?] current from the box? This happens with any clock.
Any ideas?

Advertisement

Mapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 06:02 PM   #2
licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Hooksett, New Hampshire
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 25
Default

digital clock advances


i have no idea, that's messed up though. only thing i can think of is ghosts.

Advertisement

The Deez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 06:31 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Wisconsin
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 254
Default

digital clock advances


I don't recall if AC powered digital clocks use the AC frequency to time themselves (60 hz = 1 second). But they must...Is there anything else on that particular circuit? Cfl's, old fluorescent shop lights (anything with an older ballast), electronics, etc? I know a clock run on modified sine wave (eg from a cheap dc-ac inverter) will make clicks run double-time. Kinda curious on this one...
Marqed97 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 06:32 PM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

digital clock advances


What else is on the circuit that it's plugged into?
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 07:18 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

digital clock advances


I imagine most recent clocks use electronics to keep time. As such, it would be based on the frequency (frequency counter in an IC like a 555).

If this happens with multiple clocks, I would suspect that the first one was bad and every one since then has been somebody in your household screwing with you.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 08:15 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

digital clock advances


If the clock has frequency counting circuitry, and you have a bad connection in the power feed, it may count the static of your bad power supply as extra blips in the frequency.

Another possible problem is the clock is configured for 50 Hz power supply, and connected to a 60 Hz source. That would an hour to your display for every five hours of elapsed time.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 08:19 PM   #7
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

digital clock advances


I am thinking the same way as KB is you may have the clock set at 50 HZ supply which it may account the wrong time and few case may have a glitch on the clock when the timming sensor go bad as well.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 10:21 PM   #8
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

digital clock advances


I bet KB's got it. Most inexpensive digital clocks use the line frequency for timing, very few use an internal oscillator. Somehow you have it set for 50Hz.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 11:02 PM   #9
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

digital clock advances


Quote:
Originally Posted by mpoulton View Post
I bet KB's got it. Most inexpensive digital clocks use the line frequency for timing, very few use an internal oscillator. Somehow you have it set for 50Hz.

but this has been multiple clocks. Unless the OP recently moved to the states from an area that used 50hz and brought a bunch of clocks with him or he got a really good deal on clocks on a late night tv informercial, I would doubt it was the 50hz/60hz issue.

Personally, I think it has to do with the findings of the Gravity Probe B and it's findings with time space and gravity interrelation. The means used to measure gravity and it's effects on space time have somehow created a time warp in the OP's house and speeded up time in that one room.

I would suggest the OP to refrain from staying in the room for any longer than absolutely necessary as while he is in this time warp, he will age faster just as his clocks have and his life, as observed by an outsider, will quicken until his ultimate demise.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 11:22 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Wisconsin
Posts: 460
Rewards Points: 254
Default

digital clock advances


I withdraw my theory. I think nap has something here ;-)
Marqed97 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2011, 11:27 PM   #11
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

digital clock advances


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
but this has been multiple clocks. Unless the OP recently moved to the states from an area that used 50hz and brought a bunch of clocks with him or he got a really good deal on clocks on a late night tv informercial, I would doubt it was the 50hz/60hz issue.
That would be hilarious. A whole shipment of 50Hz clocks, unloaded on TV to unsuspecting Americans at GREAT prices!

Really though, if it's not the clock it's probably a harmonic problem caused by some nonlinear load on the circuit. The clocks detect zero-crossings of the AC waveform. Each zero crossing advances the clock by 1/120th of a second. If some device on the circuit is introducing glitches in the voltage waveform that look like additional zero crossings, the clock will run faster. This is likely to be something electronic, like an electronic ballast or switching power supply.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 10:18 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

digital clock advances


Quote:
Originally Posted by The Deez View Post
i have no idea, that's messed up though. only thing i can think of is ghosts.
I thought, "wow! I'm actually going to get an answer to this 15-year old mystery? Wow!"
But you surely made me laugh! Only thing: used to be hunting cabins; not sure if there Are any ghosts!
Mapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 10:19 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

digital clock advances


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marqed97 View Post
I don't recall if AC powered digital clocks use the AC frequency to time themselves (60 hz = 1 second). But they must...Is there anything else on that particular circuit? Cfl's, old fluorescent shop lights (anything with an older ballast), electronics, etc? I know a clock run on modified sine wave (eg from a cheap dc-ac inverter) will make clicks run double-time. Kinda curious on this one...
Nothing else on circuit; but I hadn't researched how the clocks 'time' themselves. Interesting tip.
Mapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 10:21 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

digital clock advances


Then it's gotta be ghosts; I live alone, not even a cat.....
Mapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 10:29 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

digital clock advances


Children, as a newbie, I find you mahvelous.
I am a young {...} lady; have no TV thus no QVC; never thought to check under the hood of the clock; it's the bedroom in a 3-room cabin so pillow is staying put; I am not adverse to the space-time continuum theory as I've been ... well, kinda new-agey since Mother 'graduated'.
But I'll take any more considerations! Tho I highly suspect the landlord's exaggerated electrical wiring expertise.....

Advertisement

Mapes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts