Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2013, 08:53 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

difffernt voltages in a panel


is it code to have several different voltages -600, 120 vac and 48vdc, in the same panel ?

conrad cromwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:58 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 25,781
Default

difffernt voltages in a panel


Please go back and add your location to your profile!
Just go to Quick links to edit.

__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:28 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 122
Default

difffernt voltages in a panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by conrad cromwell View Post
is it code to have several different voltages -600, 120 vac and 48vdc, in the same panel ?
Depends where and what you mean by panel.
64pvolvo1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 11:17 AM   #4
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,531
Default

difffernt voltages in a panel


If you are talking about a panelboard with overcurrent protective devices, then it's is very unlikely that would be code compliant. Theoretically possible, but it would be a very special custom installation and there's probably no good reason for it. In other contexts like control panels, it is very common to have multiple voltages and classes of circuit in one device. Certain rules regarding wiring methods and separation apply.
__________________
I am a lawyer, but not your lawyer. And who cares anyways? We're here to talk construction. This is DIY advice, not legal advice.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:02 PM   #5
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,566
Default

difffernt voltages in a panel


I've built industrial control panels that were fed with 480 3, had 480 motor starters and VFDs in them, plus a control transformer for 120, plus a 24DC power supply.

Most motor control center buckets have both 480 and 120, VFD ones have 480, 120, and 24DC.

I've also seen split-bus switchgear that had 480 on the top busses and 120 on the bottom set.

It's also common for a ball field lighting switchgear to have a 480 panel and a 120 panel mounted in the same section with no separation between them. But they are two (or more) separate panels.

Rob
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sub panel to sub panel feeding tvfd27 Electrical 1 08-21-2012 03:01 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 07:24 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.