Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-01-2013, 10:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

did I screw up


Ok have a two gang switch box with 120 ran to it. Feeding a outlet for a fan/light combo in the kitchen.. I have 12/3 ran from plug box to switch. Can breaking the tabs off hot side of plug make the two switches work that outlet correctly?

tripleAelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:07 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,552
Default

did I screw up


Moved to Electrical forum.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
tripleAelectric (07-01-2013)
Old 07-01-2013, 10:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Default

did I screw up


Quote:
Originally Posted by tripleAelectric View Post
Ok have a two gang switch box with 120 ran to it. Feeding a outlet for a fan/light combo in the kitchen.. I have 12/3 ran from plug box to switch. Can breaking the tabs off hot side of plug make the two switches work that outlet correctly?
Is this for an exhaust fan like in a bath or is this a hood?
__________________
RIP EJT
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:32 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Default

did I screw up


For the kitchen. Was told their needed to be two separate switch for each. So put on plug in at 76" and ran 12/3 to the switch.
tripleAelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 10:51 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 164
Default

did I screw up


Quote:
Originally Posted by tripleAelectric View Post
For the kitchen. Was told their needed to be two separate switch for each. So put on plug in at 76" and ran 12/3 to the switch.
Who told you? I see a potential code violation. A hood must be on an individual circuit that also means a single outlet so you cant use a duplex.
__________________
RIP EJT
usair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 11:02 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Default

did I screw up


So a hood vent combo. Cant be two separate outlets off the unit? This is residental stuff ive never done before. The hood isnt pulkibg much amps neither is lite

tripleAelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to screw in a gutter mj12 Roofing/Siding 2 06-28-2013 09:16 PM
is ground screw on light switch necessary SS396 Electrical 17 01-12-2013 03:48 PM
What type of nails/screws should be used with furring strips? firsttimeremode Building & Construction 18 10-02-2012 08:30 AM
screw type bulbs. mpj111 Electrical 5 01-27-2009 03:27 PM
Screw and plug 5/4" PTP decking Klaus Building & Construction 3 06-10-2008 07:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.