Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-29-2010, 04:28 PM   #1
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Share |
Default

This diagram look ok?


Two sets of basement lights. I'd like a 3-way for each light group, at each end of the stairs. I plan to use double-3ways if i can legally fit all the wires in a single-gang box. Otherwise I'll use two separate 3-ways in each spot. Only thing I am wondering about is using only one 3-conductor wire between the two boxes, and using its white conductor for both light groups. I think it's ok...is it?

Thanks!

PS. If anyone wants to fix my typo in the subject, please do.
Attached Thumbnails
This diagram look ok?-3way.jpg  

__________________
Andrew


Last edited by secutanudu; 03-29-2010 at 04:34 PM.
secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 05:01 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

This diagram look ok?


there has to be 2 wires that run between the 3-way each set of switches. That is a must. You cannot intermix the wiring from one switch group and the other.

The 3rd terminal on the switches; on one switch, it would be the hot feed from the panel, on the other switch (the other end of that particular switch set), it would be the switchleg to go to the lights.

Obviously the hot can be common to more than one switch if needed but the switch leg is the switch leg.

If you use a common hot circuit to feed two sets of switches, you will have 6 wires between the 2 sets of switches (presuming both sets of 3 ways are in a common location). 4 would be travelers, 1 would be your neutral, and one the ground (EGC).

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 05:32 PM   #3
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,864
Default

This diagram look ok?


Not the way I would do it but it should work fine the way it is drawn.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 06:18 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,530
Default

This diagram look ok?


As long as the power feed and light feed is the common screws it should work fine.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 08:27 PM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

This diagram look ok?


I forgot to label the common screws, but they are the hot feed and the feed to the lights (They are black in the diagram). I just wanted to make sure it was ok that both lights share the one neutral in the 14/3 between the switches, that way the other switches could have 14/2 instead of 14/3.

I omitted the ground wires, they will of course be run as well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
Not the way I would do it but it should work fine the way it is drawn.
How would you do it?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 09:14 PM   #6
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,864
Default

This diagram look ok?


Probably would need a deep 4 square box with a mud ring but I would take the power to the box on the right, 2 3-wires between the switch boxes.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 07:40 AM   #7
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

This diagram look ok?


Problem I just thought of. The feed to the existing switchbox is BX cable. I don't think I'll be able to use the current single gang metal box, I'll need to replace it with a 2-gang and use two switches.

Is there a clamp/connector to connect BX cable to a ground wire so I can run it into a plastic box and ground my devices to the wire? Thanks.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 07:52 AM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,864
Default

This diagram look ok?


As a rule mettallic systems are not used with plastic boxes. There is no equipment ground inside BX cable. The armor itself is the grounding means. Is there a reason not to use a new mettallic box?
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 07:54 AM   #9
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

This diagram look ok?


Are old-work metallic boxes easy to find and install?

I figured they'd make some sort of clamp you could put on the outside of a BX cable, then attach a ground wire to it. I was thinking something like the type of clamp you use to attach a ground wire to a water pipe.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:36 AM   #10
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,864
Default

This diagram look ok?


Not an accepted practice. I guess you could install a bonnding bushing but there is no need to if a proper connector is used and lock nutted to a metallic box. Lowes, Menards, HD should have deep metallic boxes that could be used with madison straps for old work.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:45 AM   #11
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

This diagram look ok?


Googling "Madison strip" gives me...lots of gentleman's clubs...What are they?
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:49 AM   #12
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,864
Default

This diagram look ok?


Try madison straps.
brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:52 AM   #13
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

This diagram look ok?


Ha, thanks
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:54 AM   #14
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,864
Default

This diagram look ok?


brric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 01:35 PM   #15
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

This diagram look ok?


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Googling "Madison strip" gives me...lots of gentleman's clubs...What are they?
what is what? gentleman's clubs?

you really are young, aren't you?

there are metal old work boxes with integral clamping features as well quite similar to the plastic old work boxes. For a non-pro, I tend to suggest not using madison straps. While not really rocket science, there are a few tricks to using them that come with time. If you are installing just a few boxes, I would recommend old work boxes with integral clamping provisions.



and as an explanation for my first post. I did not realize secantudu was showing 2 switches in each box and without glasses on, the wiring was not clear to me .

Upon looking at it when I can see it clearly: it looks just fine with the one exception of the EGC not shown but obviously required.

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
check my wire diagram please. thanks! fabian Electrical 8 01-04-2009 11:32 AM
need detailed photo or diagram butlersprints Plumbing 9 11-30-2008 08:31 PM
wiring diagram question screenporch21 Electrical 10 11-30-2008 08:14 PM
Which diagram to use on Lenox Thermostat wiring setup? Heat Pump Lenox techs needed twilightcall HVAC 1 08-13-2008 11:49 AM
Does this wiring diagram work? beezlebub03 Electrical 7 05-04-2008 11:54 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.