Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2008, 08:10 PM   #1
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Device Box used as Junction Box


As long as the requirements of 314.16 are followed, is there any reason why a device box cannot be used as a junction box (with no devices contained therein)? I have a location where I'd like to install a junction box however I do not have enough vertical space between the basement ceiling and some conduits running about 3 inches below. I have some left over 4x2x2 switch boxes any of which would fit perfectly in this space if horizontally-mounted.

I did have to whack out a portion of the ceiling to fish some thinwall up through the floor and I could install a 1900 box protruding slightly into the ceiling. But, if I get around to patching the hole, this box would then be partially buried in the ceiling which I would assume is a no-no.

TTFN,
Jimmy

__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 08:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Device Box used as Junction Box


Put all the Jboxes you want.

Just don't bury them

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 08:59 PM   #3
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Device Box used as Junction Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Put all the Jboxes you want.

Just don't bury them
So, the fact that this is really a device box is not an issue? OK for use as a junction box only?

Thanks!
Jimmy
__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 09:08 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,860
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

Device Box used as Junction Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJimmy View Post
So, the fact that this is really a device box is not an issue? OK for use as a junction box only?

Thanks!
Jimmy
Just make sure you put a cover on it!
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 09:29 PM   #5
12 year IBEW member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 29
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Device Box used as Junction Box


and watch you conducter fill in a the box,
heavyduty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 09:37 PM   #6
Power Gen/RS Engineer
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Oak Park, Illinois
Posts: 751
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Device Box used as Junction Box


Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyduty View Post
and watch you conducter fill in a the box,
That was my reference to 314.16 and I'm all over it! This is simply a place to splice off another recept for a different part of a room but all said, yes, I'm paying attention to conductor count. Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Just make sure you put a cover on it!
No problem, I always do!

One question: Do they make flat covers for these boxes, like those available for 1900's and 4-11's? The ones that I've always seen have bevelled edges that usu. hang over the sides of the box and are substantially thinner than the gauge of the metal comprising the box.

Thanks guys,
Jimmy

__________________
Well, now, there's what's right and what's right and never the twain shall meet.
BigJimmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Accessable attic & Junction boxes (NEC question) IvoryRing Electrical 7 04-10-2013 09:30 AM
Blue plastic receptical/switch boxes used as junction boxes? alexz Electrical 7 04-09-2013 08:40 PM
Junction Box Wiring Question mattbing Electrical 3 12-03-2007 10:49 PM
Old House - no junction box - HELP! Designman20 Electrical 22 10-11-2007 04:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.