Determining Panel Amp Load Capacity - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2011, 10:56 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

determining panel amp load capacity


I searched and searched but came up empty.

How can you determine the amp load rating of any panel that has lost its paper placarding information? Over the years the labels crumble, become eligible, and/or fall off and there is nothing to indicate capacity or even a mfg model number. It is just a faded gray box with a wiring buss in it.

David

Advertisement

n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 10:57 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 235
Rewards Points: 178
Default

determining panel amp load capacity


post a picture of it

Advertisement

carmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 11:44 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South TX outside San Antonio
Posts: 152
Rewards Points: 150
Default

determining panel amp load capacity


Quote:
Originally Posted by carmusic View Post
post a picture of it
No particular panel in general.

I've opened panels in not necessarily old buildings that have no paper markings in them. This is especially true if the panel is on the sunny side of the building and is being cooked by heat. the paper label is a pile of fibers that falls out when you open the panel door.

David
n175h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 12:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: minnesota
Posts: 296
Rewards Points: 254
Default

determining panel amp load capacity


I would guess it will handle whatever the main breaker is.
cjm94 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 12:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Sfeyelectric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 105
Rewards Points: 75
Default

determining panel amp load capacity


Should be on the main breaker handle
Sfeyelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Sfeyelectric For This Useful Post:
n175h (11-26-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring a sub panel to another sub panel Uncle Wayne Electrical 25 02-08-2011 10:50 AM
Subpanel next to Main panel wired the same in 1990 Uncle Wayne Electrical 3 01-20-2011 01:43 AM
100 -> 200 amp panel upgrade questions philipjcaputo Electrical 1 10-30-2009 04:35 AM
Passing wire to another panel theatretch85 Electrical 5 09-21-2009 12:09 AM
Load Capacity of driveway - Will a dump truck crack it? Deavis Building & Construction 15 09-04-2007 10:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts