Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2008, 11:15 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 309
Share |
Default

Determining Main Panel Load with Subpanel added


Discussion in another thread got me thinking about a very important consideration when adding a subpanel to a main panel:

When adding a subpanel, does the load for the MAIN panel become the sum of the loads of both panels or is it calculated differently?
LOAD=Main+Sub
What if additional subpanels are added?

It seems that if you are adding subpanel to a MAIN because the MAIN is full, you would be taxing the load capacity of the main panel if you also filled the subpanel.

Randell Tarin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 01:13 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,136
Default

Determining Main Panel Load with Subpanel added


You will not be overloading your main panel, your main panel would draw only as much as your main breaker can handle.

If your main panel is full and you add another subpanel, as long as you don't go over the rateing of the main breaker you are fine. You could have a full main panel as well as 10 subpanels that are all full but as long as you don't exceed the main breaker you will have no problems.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2008, 01:21 PM   #3
Licensed Electrician
 
jrclen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: central wisconsin
Posts: 982
Default

Determining Main Panel Load with Subpanel added


Quote:
Originally Posted by Randell Tarin View Post
When adding a subpanel, does the load for the MAIN panel become the sum of the loads of both panels or is it calculated differently?
LOAD=Main+Sub
What if additional subpanels are added?
You are correct. If you are doing a load calculation for your service, you would add the service panel (main) loads plus the sub panel loads from all sub panels. Note, we are talking about actual loads and not merely adding up the sums of all branch over current devises.
jrclen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
This doesnt seem right. JoulesWinfield Electrical 27 07-26-2009 07:40 PM
Replace main panel or use subpanel? MasterofNone Electrical 8 02-12-2008 12:24 AM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM
Connecting subpanel to main panel rtyui2 Electrical 10 12-07-2007 06:29 PM
Add subpanel or upgrade main panel dcoz Electrical 1 01-12-2006 09:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.