Determining If I Have Enough Room - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-02-2007, 01:11 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,145
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Determining if I have enough room


So assuming that I will use two heaters for the attic. Is there anything different that I need to do for the wiring. Do I still run it to the tstat first. Then to the 2 heaters? How do I wire the tstat to the heaters if they are so far away?

Advertisement

cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 03:30 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Determining if I have enough room


cibula11,

Power cable to thermostat, separate cable from thermostat to each heater. No distance in your home qualifies as "far" with respect to any special considerations.

...Christopher
Christopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 04:14 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,145
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Determining if I have enough room


So for each of the tstat wiring I would have two wires pigtailed instead of just one?
cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2007, 05:29 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Determining if I have enough room


Quote:
Originally Posted by cibula11 View Post
So for each of the tstat wiring I would have two wires pigtailed instead of just one?
Yes...

...Christopher
Christopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 09:46 AM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,145
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Determining if I have enough room


I have decided to go with a 220v/240v just in case I would need a larger heater for the space. When wiring this, do I just add both wires from the 12/2 to the hot side of the breaker? So instead of using the neutral wire, I would just connect that with the hot side?
cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 10:55 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Determining if I have enough room


Quote:
Originally Posted by cibula11 View Post
I have decided to go with a 220v/240v just in case I would need a larger heater for the space. When wiring this, do I just add both wires from the 12/2 to the hot side of the breaker? So instead of using the neutral wire, I would just connect that with the hot side?
Correct, there is no neutral conductor in this circuit. An example of this circuit is your electric water heater if you have one.

The conductors in this circuit are:
L1,
L2,
Safety Ground.

To be thorough (and code compliant) you should wrap a ring of black, red, or blue electrical tape on the white wire of your cable at each end.

...Christopher
Christopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 11:29 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,145
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Determining if I have enough room


Okay. Another question. If I first run the 12/2 to the thermostat and then from there to one heater. And then from the thermostat to the other, will both heaters be powered, or do I need to run the 12/2 to connect both heaters. I guess, I'm a little unsure of how to make sure that both heaters are connecting.
cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 11:46 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Determining if I have enough room


Quote:
Originally Posted by cibula11 View Post
Okay. Another question. If I first run the 12/2 to the thermostat and then from there to one heater. And then from the thermostat to the other, will both heaters be powered, or do I need to run the 12/2 to connect both heaters. I guess, I'm a little unsure of how to make sure that both heaters are connecting.
I thought that we covered this above:

Quote:
So for each of the tstat wiring I would have two wires pigtailed instead of just one?
Quote:
Yes...

...Christopher
Christopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2007, 01:38 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 1,145
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Determining if I have enough room


Upon further inspection it looks as if I don't have enough room. The panel shows that I could add another breaker, but the bus bar does not continue far enough down. I have 2 15 amp breakers and 2 20 amp breakers. In order to free up space can I add a 15 amp tandem and a 20 amp tandem. This would give me the two additional spaces needed for my 2 pole 20 amp? Are there any additional instructions that I need to follow while doing this?
cibula11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2007, 11:48 AM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Determining if I have enough room


cibula11,

Replacing full size circuit breakers with tandem breakers is a viable way to get the space you need. The 2-pole circuit breaker must connect to both bus bars.

Quote:
Are there any additional instructions that I need to follow while doing this?
Workmanship standards. Don't cut wires too short. All wires should have a service loop. i.e. the connected thermostat, light switches, outlets, should be able to be pulled out six inches. Use deep boxes where ever the wall depth permits.

Get a book on home wiring!

...Christopher

Advertisement

Christopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My kids room is cold snmhanson HVAC 5 12-20-2006 12:51 PM
Replacing a laundry room roof. Tomcat1066 Building & Construction 5 11-11-2006 04:08 PM
Building an additional room lmc Building & Construction 2 09-13-2006 04:27 AM
question about cleaning a boiler room Piratehart General DIY Discussions 1 02-14-2006 01:58 PM
wooden balcony in living room Lorac Building & Construction 1 07-24-2004 04:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts