Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-24-2009, 02:21 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,243
Share |
Default

detached garage with a subpanel


does a detached garage with a subpanel and supply coming from the house need a lightening rod ? which gauge cable do you use to run a lightening rod to the ground ?

amakarevic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:00 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

detached garage with a subpanel


2 of them at least 6' apart and #6 copper.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,243
Default

detached garage with a subpanel


thanks. any example diagram how i should put it all together ?
amakarevic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:07 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,243
Default

detached garage with a subpanel


and also, how deep should i go burying the grounding ? is a couple feet ok ?
amakarevic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:07 PM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

detached garage with a subpanel


Just drive the 2 rods, run the #6 continuous through the 2 and land them on your ground bar in your panel.

I usually go through the first pulling enough to make it to the 2nd one and the rest back up in the panel.

Last edited by wirenut1110; 03-24-2009 at 05:14 PM. Reason: spelling
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:09 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

detached garage with a subpanel


If your talking about the ground wire between the 2 rods, I just take the claw of my hammer and dig a little trench just to have it underground or secure to the structure.

PS. Drive your rods flush with the ground, be sure to put the clamps on first because the ends flare out and you won't be able to get them on. Also, if it's getting inspected, I'd put some spray paint on the ends so the inspector can find them.

Last edited by wirenut1110; 03-24-2009 at 05:13 PM. Reason: added ps
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:14 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,243
Default

detached garage with a subpanel


i am actually talking about a diagram that shows everything, the stick on top of the building and how it is connected to the subpanel and the rod that goes into the ground.
amakarevic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:17 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

detached garage with a subpanel


Oh, I though your were talking about ground rods for your subpanel..

Last edited by wirenut1110; 03-24-2009 at 05:24 PM.
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:20 PM   #9
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

detached garage with a subpanel


See if this helps
http://www.mrlightning.com/files/diagram-r.jpg
wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:26 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,243
Default

detached garage with a subpanel


thanks, it does. so my only question left is should the cable from the air terminals run on the outside of the shed or the inside ? i would guess outside. if inside, my question is at which point does it go outside to go into the grounding rod ?
amakarevic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 05:27 PM   #11
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,046
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

detached garage with a subpanel


I would say outside.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
detached garage subpanel help edmart2 Electrical 7 03-19-2009 12:01 PM
Legal to have subpanel in garage? gante Electrical 36 03-13-2009 03:27 PM
Subpanel - detached garage without a floor SAS Electrical 12 03-05-2009 11:42 AM
Subpanel in detached garage gp_wa Electrical 6 10-07-2008 09:11 PM
Grounding for detached all-metal garage geeswanie Electrical 3 07-03-2008 07:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.