Detached Garage Setup - Switch Loop Setup - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2009, 10:29 AM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Detached garage setup - Switch loop setup


HI;

We are going to run the service out to the detached garage soon. In the garage, I plan to install a 60A service disconnected prior to a mlo. Garage is fed by PVC, which will transition to EMT in the garage, the entire garage will be EMT (May use some Flex ENT for attic).

I will have a switch loop between the house and the garage. Would the best way to run the switch loop be to have a J-box right where the service enters the garage, and run the switch loop off of the j-box? Otherwise, the switch loop would have to pass through the service disconnect and the panel.

This is what I am thinking of doing, Does this look like a good approach or would something else work better?

Detached garage setup - Switch loop setup-113-garage.jpg

Thank You,
Jamie

Advertisement

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 11:37 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Detached garage setup - Switch loop setup


Jamie, You can run the switch loop with the feeder if you want to. I was going to question your j-box until I realized why you put it there.
Just run the switch loop in the same conduit as the feeder, pass through the disco and into or pass through the panel.

Why the 10x10 pull box (J-Box) in the garage? Since you are only penetrating it with 1/2" conduit, you can use regular 1900 boxes instead. Just more of them. Of course it's compliant, but you can save a few bucks using 1900's instead. You need a few for switches and recepts anyway.

Advertisement

J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 12:11 PM   #3
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Detached garage setup - Switch loop setup


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Jamie, You can run the switch loop with the feeder if you want to. I was going to question your j-box until I realized why you put it there.
Just run the switch loop in the same conduit as the feeder, pass through the disco and into or pass through the panel.

Why the 10x10 pull box (J-Box) in the garage? Since you are only penetrating it with 1/2" conduit, you can use regular 1900 boxes instead. Just more of them. Of course it's compliant, but you can save a few bucks using 1900's instead. You need a few for switches and recepts anyway.
Hi;
Thanks for responding. Having the larger pull box with a single drop to the panel was just something I thought of to make things easier, just bring power from the panel up via one conduit (just a couple circuits so no problem with capicity or derating) then branch out from there to the switches, lights, etc. I think 4x4 even with a box extension would push capacity due to switch bank connections, but I could pass most of those through without a junction, so that would save space...

Having one large J-box (or multiple for a larger panel) on the ceiling above a panel, was really just an organization issue. I was thinking it would lend to a easier install if I didn't have so many runs back to the panel, and could eliminate up to 180degrees of bends in my first 10' or so from the panel. Saving the 180degrees of bends there would make alot of runs easier. Not really a big issue with the garage, since it is a small setup, but I wish I had done something more like this in the house.

When you run emt from a panel, do you tend to make some larger j-boxes centrally located or do you run the emt more directly towards where it is needed and tap off of it as you are able to?

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2009, 01:08 PM   #4
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Detached garage setup - Switch loop setup


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
Just run the switch loop in the same conduit as the feeder, pass through the disco and into or pass through the panel.
You will have to derate the feeder if you go this route, it may or may not be an issue.
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mold in detached garage jkrodger Building & Construction 15 05-01-2009 02:46 PM
Light Switch to Detached Garage - Grounding Issue smitty286 Electrical 1 10-22-2008 01:17 PM
Grounding for detached all-metal garage geeswanie Electrical 3 07-03-2008 08:31 AM
To Switch loop or not to switch loop beezlebub03 Electrical 7 06-17-2008 07:04 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 03:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts